Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Single domain to vortex state transition in multilayered cobalt/copper nanowires
Author(s): Jared Wong; Peter Greene; Randy K. Dumas; Kai Liu
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Multilayered magnetic nanowires provide ideal platforms for nanomagnetism and spin-transport studies. They exhibit complex magnetization reversal behaviors as dimensions of the magnetic components are varied, which are difficult to probe since the magnetic entities are buried inside the nanowires. We have captured magnetic and magnetoresistance "fingerprints" of Co nanodiscs in Co/Cu multilayered nanowires as they undergo a single domain to vortex state transition, using a first-order reversal curve (FORC) method. The Co/Cu multilayered nanowires have been synthesized by pulsed electrodeposition into nanoporous polycarbonate membranes. In 50 nm diameter nanowires of [Co(5nm)/Cu(8nm)]400, a 10% magnetoresistance effect is observed at 300 K. In 200 nm diameter nanowires, the magnetic configurations can be tuned by adjusting the Co nanodisc aspect ratio. The thinnest nanodiscs exhibit single domain behavior. The thicker ones exhibit vortex states, where the nucleation and annihilation of the vortices are manifested as butterfly-like features in the FORC distributions. The magnetoresistance effect shows different characteristics, which correspond to the different magnetic configurations of the Co nanodiscs.

Paper Details

Date Published: 4 September 2008
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 7036, Spintronics, 703610 (4 September 2008); doi: 10.1117/12.797405
Show Author Affiliations
Jared Wong, Univ. of California, Davis (United States)
Peter Greene, Univ. of California, Davis (United States)
Randy K. Dumas, Univ. of California, Davis (United States)
Kai Liu, Univ. of California, Davis (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7036:
Manijeh Razeghi; Henri-Jean M. Drouhin; Jean-Eric Wegrowe, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top