Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Real-time wavefront control for the PALM-3000 high order adaptive optics system
Author(s): Tuan N. Truong; Antonin H. Bouchez; Richard G. Dekany; Jean C. Shelton; Mitchell Troy; John R. Angione; Rick S. Burruss; John L. Cromer; Stephen R. Guiwits; Jennifer E. Roberts
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

We present a cost-effective scalable real-time wavefront control architecture based on off-the-shelf graphics processing units hosted in an ultra-low latency, high-bandwidth interconnect PC cluster environment composed of modules written in the component-oriented language of nesC. We demonstrate the architecture is capable of supporting the most computation and memory intensive wavefront reconstruction method (vector-matrix-multiply) at frame rates up to 2 KHz with latency under 250 &mgr;s for the PALM-3000 adaptive optics systems, a state-of-the-art upgrade on the 5.1 meter Hale Telescope that consists of a 64x64 subaperture Shack-Hartmann wavefront sensor and a 3368 active actuator high order deformable mirror in series with a 349 actuator "woofer" DM. This architecture can easily scale up to support larger AO systems at higher rates and lower latency.

Paper Details

Date Published: 14 July 2008
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 7015, Adaptive Optics Systems, 70153I (14 July 2008); doi: 10.1117/12.790457
Show Author Affiliations
Tuan N. Truong, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Antonin H. Bouchez, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Richard G. Dekany, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Jean C. Shelton, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Mitchell Troy, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
John R. Angione, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Rick S. Burruss, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
John L. Cromer, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Stephen R. Guiwits, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Jennifer E. Roberts, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7015:
Adaptive Optics Systems
Norbert Hubin; Claire E. Max; Peter L. Wizinowich, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top