Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Cryogenic wheel mechanisms for the Mid-Infrared Instrument (MIRI) of the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST): detailed design and test results from the qualification program
Author(s): O. Krause; S. Birkmann; T. Blümchen; A. Böhm; M. Ebert; U. Grözinger; Th. Henning; R. Hofferbert; A. Huber; D. Lemke; R.-R. Rohloff; S. Scheithauer; T. Gross; G. Luichtel; C. Stein; R. Stott; M. Übele; J. Amiaux; J.-L. Auguères; A. Glauser; A. Zehnder; M. Meijers; R. Jager; P. Parr-Burrman; G. Wright
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

The Mid-Infrared Instrument (MIRI) of the James Webb Space Telescope, scheduled for launch in 2013, will provide a variety of observing modes such as broad/narrow-band imaging, coronagraphy and low/medium resolution spectroscopy. One filter wheel and two dichroic-grating wheel mechanisms allow to configure the instrument between the different observing modes and wavelength ranges. The main requirements for the three mechanisms with up to 18 positions on the wheel include: (1) reliable operation at T ~ 7 K, (2) optical precision, (3) low power dissipation, (4) high vibration capability, (5) functionality at 6 K < T < 300 K and (6) long lifetime (5-10 years). To meet these stringent requirement, a space-proven mechanism design based on the European ISO mission and consisting of a central bearing carrying the optical wheels, a central torque motor for wheel actuation, a ratchet system for precise and powerless positioning and a magnetoresistive position sensor has been selected. We present here the detailed design of the flight models and report results from the extensive component qualification.

Paper Details

Date Published: 25 July 2008
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 7018, Advanced Optical and Mechanical Technologies in Telescopes and Instrumentation, 701824 (25 July 2008); doi: 10.1117/12.789319
Show Author Affiliations
O. Krause, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
S. Birkmann, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
T. Blümchen, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
A. Böhm, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
M. Ebert, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
U. Grözinger, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Th. Henning, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
R. Hofferbert, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
A. Huber, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
D. Lemke, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
R.-R. Rohloff, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
S. Scheithauer, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
T. Gross, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
G. Luichtel, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
C. Stein, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
R. Stott, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
M. Übele, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
J. Amiaux, CEA/IRFU/SAp (France)
J.-L. Auguères, CEA/IRFU/SAp (France)
A. Glauser, Paul-Scherrer-Institut (Switzerland)
A. Zehnder, Paul-Scherrer-Institut (Switzerland)
M. Meijers, ASTRON (Netherlands)
R. Jager, ASTRON (Netherlands)
P. Parr-Burrman, UK Astronomy Technology Ctr., Royal Observatory (United Kingdom)
G. Wright, UK Astronomy Technology Ctr., Royal Observatory (United Kingdom)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7018:
Advanced Optical and Mechanical Technologies in Telescopes and Instrumentation
Eli Atad-Ettedgui; Dietrich Lemke, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top