Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Three mirror anastigmat survey telescope optimization
Author(s): M. J. Sholl; M. L. Kaplan; M. L. Lampton
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We investigate practical implementations of the Korsch1 (1977) annular field three mirror anastigmat (AFTMA) telescope. This TMA offers a wide, diffraction-limited field of view (FOV) suitable for space-based survey missions. The advantages of this configuration include superior stray light baffling (distinct exit pupil) and the wide range of available focal lengths available from geometrically similar configurations. Key in the design of an AFTMA is the location of the Cassegrain focus (CF) and the exit pupil (EP). We investigate the effects of telescope geometry and optimization constraints on the location of the CF and EP, and suggest a family of geometries suitable for practical and vignetting-free AFTMA designs. The space of practical designs is generalized in terms of mirror diameter, telescope focal ratio and field of view for an annular, detector-tiled focal plane. Focal ratios between roughly f/10 and f/25 produce a geometric blur of less than 0.1arcsec. For this range of f/numbers, the focal plane should be less than ½ the primary mirror (PM) diameter, and the cross-axis should be located roughly 0.6 PM diameters behind the PM vertex.

Paper Details

Date Published: 12 July 2008
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 7010, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2008: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter, 70103M (12 July 2008); doi: 10.1117/12.789293
Show Author Affiliations
M. J. Sholl, Univ. of California at Berkeley (United States)
M. L. Kaplan, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp. (United States)
M. L. Lampton, Univ. of California at Berkeley (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7010:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2008: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter
Jacobus M. Oschmann; Mattheus W. M. de Graauw; Howard A. MacEwen, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top