Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

The L3Vision CCD220 with its OCam test camera for AO applications in Europe
Author(s): Philippe Feautrier; Jean-Luc Gach; Philippe Balard; Christian Guillaume; Mark Downing; Eric Stadler; Yves Magnard; Sandy Denney; Wolfgang Suske; Paul Jorden; Patrick Wheeler; Michael Skegg; Peter Pool; Ray Bell; David Burt; Javier Reyes; Manfred Meyer; Norbert Hubin; Dietrich Baade; Markus Kasper; Robin Arsenault; Thierry Fusco; Jose Javier Diaz Garcia
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

ESO and JRA2 OPTICON have jointly funded e2v technologies to develop a custom CCD for Adaptive Optic Wave Front Sensor (AO WFS) applications. The device, called CCD220, is a compact Peltier-cooled 240×240 pixel frametransfer 8-output back-illuminated sensor. Using the electron-multiplying technology of L3Vision detectors, the device is designed to achieve sub-electron read noise at frame rates from 25 Hz to 1,500 Hz and dark current lower than 0.01 e-/pixel/frame. The development has many unique features. To obtain high frame rates, multiple EMCCD gain registers and metal buttressing of row clock lines are used. The baseline device is built in standard silicon. In addition, two speculative variants have been built; deep depletion silicon devices to improve red response and devices with an electronic shutter to extend use to Rayleigh and Pulsed Laser Guide Star applications. These are all firsts for L3Vision CCDs. These CCD220 detectors have now been fabricated by e2v technologies. This paper describes the design of the device, technology trade-offs, and progress to date. A Test Camera, called "OCam", has been specially designed and built for these sensors. Main features of the OCam camera are extensively described in this paper, together with first light images obtained with the CCD220.

Paper Details

Date Published: 22 July 2008
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 7021, High Energy, Optical, and Infrared Detectors for Astronomy III, 70210C (22 July 2008); doi: 10.1117/12.788009
Show Author Affiliations
Philippe Feautrier, LAOG, Domaine Universitaire (France)
Jean-Luc Gach, Lab. d'Astrophysique de Marseille (France)
Philippe Balard, Lab. d'Astrophysique de Marseille (France)
Christian Guillaume, Observatoire de Haute Provence (France)
Mark Downing, ESO (Germany)
Eric Stadler, LAOG, Domaine Universitaire (France)
Yves Magnard, LAOG, Domaine Universitaire (France)
Sandy Denney, e2v technologies (United Kingdom)
Wolfgang Suske, e2v technologies (United Kingdom)
Paul Jorden, e2v technologies (United Kingdom)
Patrick Wheeler, e2v technologies (United Kingdom)
Michael Skegg, e2v technologies (United Kingdom)
Peter Pool, e2v technologies (United Kingdom)
Ray Bell, e2v technologies (United Kingdom)
David Burt, e2v technologies (United Kingdom)
Javier Reyes, ESO (Germany)
Manfred Meyer, ESO (Germany)
Norbert Hubin, ESO (Germany)
Dietrich Baade, ESO (Germany)
Markus Kasper, ESO (Germany)
Robin Arsenault, ESO (Germany)
Thierry Fusco, ONERA (France)
Jose Javier Diaz Garcia, Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (Spain)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7021:
High Energy, Optical, and Infrared Detectors for Astronomy III
David A. Dorn; Andrew D. Holland, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top