Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Optical ceramics from neodymium-activated yttrium oxide
Author(s): S. N. Bagayev; V. V. Osipov; M. G. Ivanov; V. I. Solomonov; V. V. Platonov; A. A. Orlov; A. V. Rasuleva; V. V. Ivanov; A. S. Kaygorodov; V. R. Khrustov; S. M. Vatnik; I. A. Vedin; A. P. Mayorov; E. V. Pestryakov; A. V. Shestakov; A. V. Salkov
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The results of investigations of mechanical, optical and laser characteristics of ceramics made from neodymiumactivated yttrium oxide are presented. The ceramics was fabricated with the use of a new technology including Laser synthesis of nanopowders and their magnetic pulsed compaction (LSN&MPC). The fracture toughness ΚIC = 0,9 - 1,4 MPa•m1/2) and microhardness (HV = 11,8 GPa) of the ceramics have been determined. It has been found that ceramic samples sintered in the temperature range from 1550 to 2050°C have (1 - 150) vol. ppm porosity and optical loss coefficient α1,07 μm = 0,03 - 2,1 cm-1. It has been shown that pore content in this range did not influence on the optical loss coefficient. Laser generation at λg ≈ 1,08 μm with a slope efficiency of 15 % at laser diode pumping has been obtained in 1.1 mm thickness sample with α1,07 μm = 0,03 cm-1.

Paper Details

Date Published: 19 February 2008
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 6938, Atomic and Molecular Pulsed Lasers VII, 69380R (19 February 2008); doi: 10.1117/12.785644
Show Author Affiliations
S. N. Bagayev, Institute of Laser Physics (Russia)
V. V. Osipov, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
M. G. Ivanov, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
V. I. Solomonov, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
V. V. Platonov, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
A. A. Orlov, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
A. V. Rasuleva, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
V. V. Ivanov, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
A. S. Kaygorodov, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
V. R. Khrustov, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
S. M. Vatnik, Institute of Laser Physics (Russia)
I. A. Vedin, Institute of Laser Physics (Russia)
A. P. Mayorov, Institute of Laser Physics (Russia)
E. V. Pestryakov, Institute of Laser Physics (Russia)
A. V. Shestakov, JSC ELAKOM (Russia)
A. V. Salkov, JSC ELAKOM (Russia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6938:
Atomic and Molecular Pulsed Lasers VII
Victor F. Tarasenko, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top