Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

A compact integrated green-light source by second harmonic generation of a GaAs distributed feedback laser diode
Author(s): T. Tekin; H. Schröder; B. Wunderle; G. Erbert; A. Klehr; O. Brox; J. Wiedmann; F. Scholz
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The authors have developed a new compact integration concept for a green laser emitter. Compact green light sources are of great interest for several applications such as in spectroscopy and mobile displays. The requirements for such sources are low noise, high-frequency modulation capability, compactness, reliability, low power consumption, and low cost. The developed green-light source fulfils these requirements due to its dense integration while allowing larger tolerances within the fabrication processes. The green-laser emission of 30 mW is generated using second harmonic generation (SHG) in a nonlinear crystal. As pumping light source, a reliable GaAs semiconductor laser diode with an emission wavelength at 1060 nm has been developed. This single-wavelength distributed feedback (DFB) laser diode has a sidemode suppression ratio better than 40 dB and an optical power of up to 325 mW. The SHG device is a periodically poled lithium niobate (PPLN) waveguide. The 1060 nm pump light is directly coupled to the passive nonlinear waveguide. To enable the precise operating temperature conditions for DFB and PPLN, both components are mounted on separate temperature controllers. As confirmed also by thermo-mechanical simulations, the presented compact, reliable integration of green-light emitter enhances the overall yield by introducing a fabrication process tolerant integration scheme.

Paper Details

Date Published: 14 May 2008
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 6992, Micro-Optics 2008, 69920O (14 May 2008); doi: 10.1117/12.781824
Show Author Affiliations
T. Tekin, Fraunhofer Institute for Reliability and Microintegration (Germany)
H. Schröder, Fraunhofer Institute for Reliability and Microintegration (Germany)
B. Wunderle, Fraunhofer Institute for Reliability and Microintegration (Germany)
G. Erbert, Ferdinand-Braun-Institut für Höchstfrequenztechnik (Germany)
A. Klehr, Ferdinand-Braun-Institut für Höchstfrequenztechnik (Germany)
O. Brox, Ferdinand-Braun-Institut für Höchstfrequenztechnik (Germany)
J. Wiedmann, eagleyard Photonics GmbH (Germany)
F. Scholz, eagleyard Photonics GmbH (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6992:
Micro-Optics 2008
Hugo Thienpont; Peter Van Daele; Jürgen Mohr; Mohammad R. Taghizadeh, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top