Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

High sensitivity capacitive MEMS microphone with spring supported diaphragm
Author(s): Norizan Mohamad; Pio Iovenitti; Thurai Vinay
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Capacitive microphones (condenser microphones) work on a principle of variable capacitance and voltage by the movement of its electrically charged diaphragm and back plate in response to sound pressure. There has been considerable research carried out to increase the sensing performance of microphones while reducing their size to cater for various modern applications such as mobile communication and hearing aid devices. This paper reviews the development and current performance of several condenser MEMS microphone designs, and introduces a microphone with spring supported diaphragm to further improve condenser microphone performance. The numerical analysis using Coventor FEM software shows that this new microphone design has a higher mechanical sensitivity compared to the existing edge clamped flat diaphragm condenser MEMS microphone. The spring supported diaphragm is shown to have a flat frequency response up to 7 kHz and more stable under the variations of the diaphragm residual stress. The microphone is designed to be easily fabricated using the existing silicon fabrication technology and the stability against the residual stress increases its reproducibility.

Paper Details

Date Published: 9 January 2008
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 6800, Device and Process Technologies for Microelectronics, MEMS, Photonics, and Nanotechnology IV, 68001T (9 January 2008); doi: 10.1117/12.758987
Show Author Affiliations
Norizan Mohamad, Swinburne Univ. of Technology (Australia)
Pio Iovenitti, Swinburne Univ. of Technology (Australia)
Thurai Vinay, RMIT Univ. (Australia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6800:
Device and Process Technologies for Microelectronics, MEMS, Photonics, and Nanotechnology IV
Hark Hoe Tan; Jung-Chih Chiao; Lorenzo Faraone; Chennupati Jagadish; Jim Williams; Alan R. Wilson, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top