Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Several key technologies in particle-in-cell (PIC) simulation software
Author(s): Dagang Liu; Jun Zhou; Min Hu; Shenggan Liu
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

In current particle-in-cell (PIC) simulation software, the most important parts are several key technologies. In this paper, we discuss some technologies based on Yee-grid model and time-leapfrog model. Firstly, we induce 3-D electromagnetic discrete algorithm formulae, which include the centered-difference algorithm formulae, time-biased algorithm formulae and high-Q algorithm formulae. The application range of these electromagnetic discrete algorithms is also analyzed. Secondly, we discuss the phenomenological description technology used in emission simulations and induce the formulae which represent how to set the charge of macro particles in explosive emission. The charge-conserving algorithm used to calculate current which is produced by the particle moving and the weight algorithm used to calculate Lorentz force are also discussed. Thirdly, the ways to realize the common boundary conditions including the ideal conductor, port boundary, absorption boundaries and metal strut are discussed. The way to calculate the absorption coefficient of the absorption boundary is described in detail. The formulae of the metal strut's current and inductance under two-dimensional and three-dimensional coordinates in different orientation in space are induced and realized using finite-difference time-domain (FDTD) method. Then, the iterative process under main FDTD iteration of metal strut is given. At last, the correctness of these technologies is proved by computer simulation on the Vavilov-Cherenkov radiation (VCR) in 2-D photonic crystal. The results show that the THz radiation is excited by electron bunches in photonic crystal.

Paper Details

Date Published: 4 January 2008
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 6840, Terahertz Photonics, 68401C (4 January 2008); doi: 10.1117/12.755639
Show Author Affiliations
Dagang Liu, Univ. of Electronics Science and Technology of China (China)
Jun Zhou, Univ. of Electronics Science and Technology of China (China)
Min Hu, Univ. of Electronics Science and Technology of China (China)
Shenggan Liu, Univ. of Electronics Science and Technology of China (China)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6840:
Terahertz Photonics
Cunlin Zhang; Xi-Cheng Zhang, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top