Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Properties of ITO thin films prepared by APS-assisted EB evaporation
Author(s): Guangzong He; Changxin Xiong; Xilin Yao
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

ITO thin films were prepared by oxygen ion-assisted electron beam (EB) evaporation technique onto K9 glass substrate at low temperature and effects of substrate temperature, oxygen flux on the structure, electrical and optical properties of ITO thin films were investigated. An advanced plasma source (APS) was used to produce high density argon and oxygen ion flux to cause electron degeneracy in the band gap by introducing non-stoichiometry in the ITO films to improve the conductivity of the prepared films. The structure of the ITO thin films were characterized by XRD and the results shown that all of the ITO films deposited at the temperature above 160°C shown a polycrystalline structure. And as the substrate temperature increased, the optical transmittance and electrical conductivity were improved. It is also found that the increase of oxygen flux increased the optical transmittance of the deposited ITO films, however, at a given deposition rate, the electrical conductivity showed a maximum in a certain range of oxygen flux. ITO thin films with the resistivity of 1.65×10-4 Ω· cm and an optical transmittance of above 90% in the visible region were prepared at a temperature of 250°C by the given method.

Paper Details

Date Published: 4 January 2008
PDF: 5 pages
Proc. SPIE 6831, Nanophotonics, Nanostructure, and Nanometrology II, 683111 (4 January 2008); doi: 10.1117/12.754513
Show Author Affiliations
Guangzong He, Huazhong Institute of Opto-Electronics (China)
Changxin Xiong, Huazhong Institute of Opto-Electronics (China)
Xilin Yao, Huazhong Institute of Opto-Electronics (China)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6831:
Nanophotonics, Nanostructure, and Nanometrology II
Xing Zhu; Stephen Y. Chou; Yasuhiko Arakawa, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top