Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Photo-ionization of superlattices on dielectric surface by IR radiation
Author(s): V. E. Gruzdev
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

In this paper we analyze the photo-excitation of electron sub-system of a periodic nano-structure by IR laser radiation. The nano-structure is a 1D super-lattice on surface of dielectric or semiconductor material transparent for the incident radiation. Theoretical description of the photo-excitation is based on the recent modification of the Keldysh theory adapted to the 1D case. We show that two specific regimes of the photo-excitation are possible in the super-lattices: photo-excitation suppression corresponding to decrease of the photo-excitation rate with increasing of laser intensity, and singularity regime corresponding to abrupt increase of the photo-ionization rate. Threshold of the singularity regime is calculated as function of laser wavelength and super-lattice period. The obtained results allow to propose a promising application of the super-lattices as intensity limiters for IR optical systems. In particular, we can calculate the period of the super-lattice to provide limiting of input laser intensity at required level due to multi-photon absorption by electrons of the lattice. Temperature of laser-induced heating resulted from total absorption of an incident laser pulse and diffraction distortions induced by the super-lattice are estimated to confirm possibility of utilizing the super-lattices as the intensity limiters.

Paper Details

Date Published: 18 December 2007
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 6720, Laser-Induced Damage in Optical Materials: 2007, 672004 (18 December 2007); doi: 10.1117/12.754056
Show Author Affiliations
V. E. Gruzdev, Univ. of Missouri-Columbia (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6720:
Laser-Induced Damage in Optical Materials: 2007
Gregory J. Exarhos; Arthur H. Guenther; Keith L. Lewis; Detlev Ristau; M. J. Soileau; Christopher J. Stolz, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top