Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Recent progress of erbium-doped fiber amplifiers and their components
Author(s): Masaru Fukushima; Jutaro Miura
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The Erbium-doped fiber amplifiers (EDFA) are widely available in a today's commercial market, and are deployed in various optical transmission applications from terrestrial system to undersea system. Broad gain spectrum over 9 THz enabled huge growth of bandwidth usage in 1550nm region aimed at broadband Internet, and its broad gain characteristics triggered bandwidth competition on dense wavelength division multiplex (DWDM) network these ten years. At first, we briefly review the evolutional history of EDFA with previous achievements. And we will explain the primary and important key devices which compose EDFA. We will discuss design parameters, and recent trend and achievements of the devices, which cover Erbium-doped fibers (EDF), 980-nm laser diodes (LD), and gain flattening filters (GFFs). The chip structure of 980-nm LD is explained to achieve high power and to realize high reliability. These key devices enabled EDFA to prevail in commercial area. After the discussion of key components, we will introduce recent achievements of gain controlled EDFAs which are applied in conjunction with Re-configurable Optical Add/Drop Multiplexer (ROADM). We will report the transient gain dynamics of the cascaded EDFAs with a recirculating loop experiment.

Paper Details

Date Published: 10 September 2007
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 6775, Active and Passive Optical Components for Communications VII, 677502 (10 September 2007); doi: 10.1117/12.752528
Show Author Affiliations
Masaru Fukushima, Furukawa Electric Co., Ltd. (Japan)
Jutaro Miura, Furukawa Electric Co., Ltd. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6775:
Active and Passive Optical Components for Communications VII
Achyut Kumar Dutta; Yasutake Ohishi; Niloy K. Dutta; Andrei V. Lavrinenko, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top