Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Novel developers for positive tone EUV photoresists
Author(s): Geeta Sharma; Shalini Sharma; Michael Rattner; Robert P. Meagley; Masato Tanaka; Tsutomu Shimokawa; Hikaru Sugita; Tina Wang; Atsushi Shiota
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

While much work has been done in the design of photo resist for EUV lithography, these materials have typically been optimized for so called "standard developer" i.e., 2.38% tetra methyl ammonium hydroxide. However we felt that it would be reasonable to consider specifically the developer as opposed to the resist design. Indeed it has been suggested that the polarity and cation size in developer are important positive tone resist performance. It is our hypothesis that a base that could wet and penetrate faster into partially deprotected resist could result in a faster photo speed, and thus make more process margin available for resist design; for example a slower system incorporating higher quencher loadings. Additionally, we sought to probe the effects of solvent polarity with varying amounts of non-aqueous solvent additive. By reorganization of the nascent solvent shell with the non aqueous additives, we sought to perturb the development kinetics and thus change the resist's performance envelope by accelerating photo speed and potentially increasing contrast. This approach has been applied to non chemically amplified resist to good effect. In the three positive tones EUV and a 193nm photo resist was evaluated with the prototype developers we found that the performance was profoundly impacted by these two probes (i.e. solvent polarity and cation hydrophobicity).

Paper Details

Date Published: 30 March 2007
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 6519, Advances in Resist Materials and Processing Technology XXIV, 65190P (30 March 2007); doi: 10.1117/12.712377
Show Author Affiliations
Geeta Sharma, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Shalini Sharma, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Michael Rattner, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Robert P. Meagley, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Intel Corp. (United States)
Masato Tanaka, JSR Corp. (Japan)
Tsutomu Shimokawa, JSR Corp. (Japan)
Hikaru Sugita, JSR Micro Inc. (United States)
Tina Wang, JSR Micro Inc. (United States)
Atsushi Shiota, JSR Micro Inc. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6519:
Advances in Resist Materials and Processing Technology XXIV
Qinghuang Lin, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top