Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Repetitive pulses and laser-induced retinal injury thresholds
Author(s): David J. Lund
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Experimental studies with repetitively pulsed lasers show that the ED50, expressed as energy per pulse, varies as the inverse fourth power of the number of pulses in the exposure, relatively independently of the wavelength, pulse duration, or pulse repetition frequency of the laser. Models based on a thermal damage mechanism cannot readily explain this result. Menendez et al. proposed a probability-summation model for predicting the threshold for a train of pulses based on the probit statistics for a single pulse. The model assumed that each pulse is an independent trial, unaffected by any other pulse in the train of pulses and assumes that the probability of damage for a single pulse is adequately described by the logistic curve. The requirement that the effect of each pulse in the pulse train be unaffected by the effects of other pulses in the train is a showstopper when the end effect is viewed as a thermal effect with each pulse in the train contributing to the end temperature of the target tissue. There is evidence that the induction of cell death by microcavitation bubbles around melanin granules heated by incident laser irradiation can satisfy the condition of pulse independence as required by the probability summation model. This paper will summarize the experimental data and discuss the relevance of the probability summation model given microcavitation as a damage mechanism.

Paper Details

Date Published: 5 March 2007
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 6426, Ophthalmic Technologies XVII, 642625 (5 March 2007); doi: 10.1117/12.711177
Show Author Affiliations
David J. Lund, Walter Reed Army Institute of Research (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6426:
Ophthalmic Technologies XVII
Bruce E. Stuck; Fabrice Manns; Per G. Söderberg; Michael Belkin M.D.; Arthur Ho, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top