Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Passively mode-locked short-cavity 10GHz Er:Yb-codoped phosphate-fiber laser using carbon nanotubes
Author(s): Shinji Yamashita; Takeshi Yoshida; Sze Y. Set; Pavel Polynkin; Nasser Peyghambarian
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

Passively mode-locked fiber lasers are the best pulsed sources available today due to their simplicity and their ability to generate transform-limited pulses in the picosecond regimes. A drawback of the conventional passively mode-locked fiber lasers is that the pulse repetition rate is relatively low, at best a few tens of MHz, because of long cavity length. In order to raise repetition rate up to a few GHz, the cavity length has to be shortened below a few centimeters. Fiber lasers with such a short cavity require a high gain fiber and a small saturable absorber with low loss. Recently, the authors have proposed and demonstrated a small and low-loss saturable absorber device incorporating carbon nanotubes (CNT). Using CNT, we have realized very stable 2cm-long, 5GHz mode-locked Er:Yb-codoped silica-fiber laser, but the output power was limited to ~0.2mW due to insufficient gain in the Er:Yb-codoped silica-fiber. Here we used heavily Er:Yb-codoped phosphate fiber to form 1cm-long cavity with fiber mirrors, and succeeded in generating stable pulse trains with output power as high as 30mW and repetition rate as high as 10GHz at 1535nm.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 February 2007
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 6453, Fiber Lasers IV: Technology, Systems, and Applications, 64531Y (21 February 2007); doi: 10.1117/12.700024
Show Author Affiliations
Shinji Yamashita, The Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)
Takeshi Yoshida, The Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)
Sze Y. Set, Alnair Labs Corp. (Japan)
Pavel Polynkin, College of Optical Sciences, Univ. of Arizona (United States)
Nasser Peyghambarian, College of Optical Sciences, Univ. of Arizona (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6453:
Fiber Lasers IV: Technology, Systems, and Applications
Donald J. Harter; Andreas Tünnermann; Jes Broeng; Clifford Headley, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top