Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Mechanisms of femtosecond laser nanomachining of dielectric surfaces
Author(s): Sergey I. Kudryashov; A. Joglekar; G. Mourou; A. A. Ionin; V. D. Zvorykin; A. J. Hunt
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Optical damage produced by femtosecond pulsed lasers on dielectric surfaces is extremely precise, allowing the damage mechanisms to be inferred from reproducible damage characteristics. Here nanoscale femtosecond laser ablation is applied to probe the ultrafast dynamics of laser energy deposition including the generation and transport of surface electron-hole or electron-ion plasmas. For shallow surface nano-craters fabricated on quartz and glass surfaces by single 0.53 &mgr;m or 1.05 &mgr;m laser shots, their corresponding well-defined laser intensity thresholds demonstrate pronounced effects of laser wavelength, crystalline state of the dielectric and laser waist radius, indicating equal importance of laser energy deposition and transport phenomena during ablation. Simultaneously, unusually deep surface nanoholes emerge drilled by self-focusing laser beam or forward-scattered highly penetrating short-wavelength radiation from the warm, dense surface plasma.

Paper Details

Date Published: 20 March 2007
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 6459, Laser-based Micro- and Nanopackaging and Assembly, 64590N (20 March 2007); doi: 10.1117/12.697663
Show Author Affiliations
Sergey I. Kudryashov, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
A. Joglekar, Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (United States)
G. Mourou, ENSTA-Ecole Polytechnique (France)
A. A. Ionin, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
V. D. Zvorykin, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
A. J. Hunt, Univ. of Michigan (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6459:
Laser-based Micro- and Nanopackaging and Assembly
Wilhelm Pfleging; Yongfeng Lu; Kunihiko Washio; Friedrich G. Bachmann; Willem Hoving, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top