Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Laser synthesis and characteristics of oxide nanopowders
Author(s): V. V. Osipov; Yu. A. Kotov; M. G. Ivanov; V. V. Platonov; A. M. Murzakaev; V. V. Lisenkov; A. V. Rasuleva
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

This report deals with the production and characteristics of Y2O3 -stabilized ZrO2 (YSZ), A12O3+YSZ, GDC, Nd:Y2O3 and Nd:YAG nanopowders prepared by evaporation of the materials with the help of a pulse-repetitive CO2 laser. The design of a setup for the nanopowders production, scheme and characteristics of the original CO2 laser excited by a pulse-periodic combined discharge are reported. For YSZ; Al2O3+YSZ, Nd:Y2O3, Nd:YAG the output rate was 15-25 g/h, for GDC ~ 50-75 g/hour, the energy consumption 30-40 (W*h)/g and 8-15 (W*h)/g, respectively. Data for the nanopowders specific surface, size distribution, the results of X-ray phase and structure analysis, as well as the results of luminescence analysis are discussed. The analysis of the obtained results showed that two main factors that determine the output rate of the nanopowders synthesis are the type of material evaporated and the mean laser radiation power. The mean size of the nanoparticles doesn't depend on the type of material.

Paper Details

Date Published: 10 June 2006
PDF: 14 pages
Proc. SPIE 6344, Advanced Laser Technologies 2005, 63442N (10 June 2006); doi: 10.1117/12.693657
Show Author Affiliations
V. V. Osipov, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
Yu. A. Kotov, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
M. G. Ivanov, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
V. V. Platonov, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
A. M. Murzakaev, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
V. V. Lisenkov, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)
A. V. Rasuleva, Institute of Electrophysics (Russia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6344:
Advanced Laser Technologies 2005
Ivan A. Shcherbakov; Kexin Xu; Qingyue Wang; Alexander V. Priezzhev; Vladimir I. Pustovoy, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top