Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Terahertz sources based on the intracavity wave mixing of self-generated fields in semiconductor lasers
Author(s): Vladimir Ya. Aleshkin; Aleksey A. Belyanin; Aleksandr A. Dubinov; Vitaly V. Kocharovsky; Vladimir V. Kocharovsky; Marlan O. Scully
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

A concept of intracavity nonlinear wave mixing using modes generated in semiconductor injection lasers as an intracavity optical pump for the mixing is developed. This approach utilizes very high nonlinear susceptibilities of III-v semiconductors that cannot be used as a passive externally pumped crystal because of the strong absorption of the optical pump and the absence of a convenient phase-matching scheme. In particular, it opens prospects for mastering the terahertz frequency range on the basis of a standard heterolaser technology. We review recent theoretical and experimental investigations in the field and discuss applications.

Paper Details

Date Published: 19 May 2006
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 6257, ICONO 2005: Nonlinear Laser Spectroscopy, High Precision Measurements, and Laser Biomedicine and Chemistry, 62570I (19 May 2006); doi: 10.1117/12.678363
Show Author Affiliations
Vladimir Ya. Aleshkin, Institute for Physics of Microstructures (Russia)
Aleksey A. Belyanin, Texas A&M Univ. (United States)
Aleksandr A. Dubinov, Institute for Physics of Microstructures (Russia)
Vitaly V. Kocharovsky, Texas A&M Univ. (United States)
Institute of Applied Physics (Russia)
Vladimir V. Kocharovsky, Institute of Applied Physics (Russia)
Marlan O. Scully, Texas A&M Univ. (United States)
Princeton Univ. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6257:
ICONO 2005: Nonlinear Laser Spectroscopy, High Precision Measurements, and Laser Biomedicine and Chemistry
Sergey N. Bagayev; Andrey Chikishev; Alexander Dmitriev; Martial Ducloy; Tony Heinz; Vladilen Letokhov; Alexander Shkurinov; Hiroaki Takahashi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top