Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Absorption and fluorescence in atomic submicron cell: high laser intensity case
Author(s): David Sarkisyan; Tigran Varzhapetyan; Aram Papoyan; Daniel Bloch; Martial Ducloy
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Absorption and fluorescence in Rb sub-micron cell on D2 line have been studied when the thickness L varies in the range of 0.5 λ - 3.5 λ, and the laser intensity is 0.1 - 1 W/cm2 (λ = 780 nm, λL ~ 5 MHz). When L = (2n +1) λ/2 (n-integer) and I ~ 0.1 W/cm2, revival of peaks of Dicke-type coherent narrowing effect with some modification of the spectra (as compared with low intensity regime) are still observable. The experimental results obtained at I ~ 1 W/cm2 for L = λ/2 show that there are no "dips" of a reduced absorption in the spectra, though there is a strong spectral broadening of the absorption (and fluorescence), as well as a reduction of the absorption (in contrast, I ~ 1 mW/cm2 is sufficient to create the dips when L = λ). Probably, this is caused by a strong Dicke narrowing regime when L = λ/2. Several additional differences of fluorescence and absorption spectra behaviour at high intensities are revealed.

Paper Details

Date Published: 19 May 2006
PDF: 5 pages
Proc. SPIE 6257, ICONO 2005: Nonlinear Laser Spectroscopy, High Precision Measurements, and Laser Biomedicine and Chemistry, 625701 (19 May 2006); doi: 10.1117/12.677912
Show Author Affiliations
David Sarkisyan, Institute for Physical Research (Armenia)
Tigran Varzhapetyan, Institute for Physical Research (Armenia)
Aram Papoyan, Institute for Physical Research (Armenia)
Daniel Bloch, Univ. Paris Nord (France)
Martial Ducloy, Univ. Paris Nord (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6257:
ICONO 2005: Nonlinear Laser Spectroscopy, High Precision Measurements, and Laser Biomedicine and Chemistry
Sergey N. Bagayev; Andrey Chikishev; Alexander Dmitriev; Martial Ducloy; Tony Heinz; Vladilen Letokhov; Alexander Shkurinov; Hiroaki Takahashi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top