Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Astronomy FPA advancements at Rockwell Scientific
Author(s): Tom Chuh; Markus Loose; David J. Gulbransen; Selmer Wong Anglin; James Beletic; Eric C. Piquette; James D. Garnett
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

Advancements in space and ground-based astronomy focal plane array (FPA) technology at Rockwell Scientific Company (RSC) are presented. The review covers the broad base of astronomy work at RSC for both present and next generation FPAs, and details recent achievements in detector, readout, and packaging technologies. RSC astronomy FPA progress includes: RSC FPA delivery for NASA's successful Deep Impact mission, progress on RSC's programs supplying H-2RG FPAs for James Webb Space Telescope (JWST) instruments JWST NIRCam, NIRSpec and FGS; selection of RSC's SIDECAR Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) for use on JWST instruments NIRCam, NIRSpec and FGS and the development of the JWST SIDECAR space flight package; first silicon on the 16 million pixel HAWAII-4RG (4Kx4K); optimization of NIR FPAs for space telescope missions; construction of multiple 16 million pixel 2x2 mosaic FPAs using the HAWAII-2RG readouts, and the development of the Microlensing Planet Finder (MPF) very large, 150 million pixel FPA.

Paper Details

Date Published: 14 June 2006
PDF: 14 pages
Proc. SPIE 6265, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation I: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter, 62652K (14 June 2006); doi: 10.1117/12.671813
Show Author Affiliations
Tom Chuh, Rockwell Scientific Co. (United States)
Markus Loose, Rockwell Scientific Co. (United States)
David J. Gulbransen, Rockwell Scientific Co. (United States)
Selmer Wong Anglin, Rockwell Scientific Co. (United States)
James Beletic, Rockwell Scientific Co. (United States)
Eric C. Piquette, Rockwell Scientific Co. (United States)
James D. Garnett, Rockwell Scientific Co. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6265:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation I: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter
John C. Mather; Howard A. MacEwen; Mattheus W. M. de Graauw, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top