Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Cryogenic filter- and spectrometer wheels for the Mid Infrared Instrument (MIRI) of the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST)
Author(s): D. Lemke; A. Böhm; F. de Bonis; M. Ebert; T. Gross; U. Grözinger; T. Henning; M. Hinz; R. Hofferbert; A. Huber; O. Krause; S. Kuhlmann; G. Luichtel; J. Ramos; R.-R. Rohloff; C. Stein; M. Trunz; M. Übele; K. Weidlich
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

Following a warm launch in 2013 the MIRI instrument aboard JWST will be operated for a lifetime of 5-10 years in the L2-orbit at a temperature of ~6 K. The main requirements for its three wheel mechanisms include: (1) reliability, (2) optical precision, (3) low power dissipation, (4) high vibration capability, (5) functionality at 4 < T < 300 K. The filter wheel carries broad and narrow band spectral filters, coronographic masks and a prism on its 18 positions. Each of the two spectrometer wheels is equipped with two disks on both sides of a central torque motor, one of them carries 6 gratings, the other a dichroic/mirror arrangement. The optical positions are defined by a ratchet mechanism. No closed loop control is required; therefore the long time average heat dissipation is negligible. A new ratchet mechanism had to be developed to satisfy a 120° increment of only three positions for the spectrometer wheels. Extensive cold and warm tests were performed on the development models of the filter and spectrometer wheels at MPIA. These results stimulated numerous improvements in the mechanical and thermal design which are now to be implemented in the qualification and flight models developed jointly with Carl Zeiss. Synergies are expected from a similar development of the NIRSPEC wheels, in which MPIA and Carl Zeiss are involved.

Paper Details

Date Published: 10 July 2006
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 6273, Optomechanical Technologies for Astronomy, 627324 (10 July 2006); doi: 10.1117/12.671230
Show Author Affiliations
D. Lemke, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
A. Böhm, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
F. de Bonis, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
M. Ebert, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
T. Gross, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
U. Grözinger, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
T. Henning, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
M. Hinz, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
R. Hofferbert, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
A. Huber, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
O. Krause, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
S. Kuhlmann, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
G. Luichtel, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
J. Ramos, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
R.-R. Rohloff, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
C. Stein, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
M. Trunz, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
M. Übele, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
K. Weidlich, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6273:
Optomechanical Technologies for Astronomy
Eli Atad-Ettedgui; Joseph Antebi; Dietrich Lemke, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top