Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Herschel-SPIRE: design, performance, and scientific capabilities
Author(s): Matthew Griffin; Alain Abergel; Peter Ade; Philippe André; Jean-Paul Baluteau; James Bock; Alberto Franceschini; Walter Gear; Jason Glenn; Douglas Griffin; Ken King; Emmanuel Lellouch; David Naylor; Göran Olofsson; Ismael Perez-Fournon; Michael Rowan-Robinson; Paolo Saraceno; Eric Sawyer; Alan Smith; Bruce Swinyard; Laurent Vigroux; Gillian Wright
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

SPIRE, the Spectral and Photometric Imaging Receiver, is a submillimetre camera and spectrometer for the European Space Agency's Herschel Space Observatory. It comprises a three-band imaging photometer operating at 250, 360 and 520 μm, and an imaging Fourier Transform Spectrometer (FTS) covering 200-670 μm. The detectors are arrays of feedhorn-coupled NTD spider-web bolometers cooled to 0.3 K. The photometer field of view of is 4 x 8 arcmin., observed simultaneously in the three spectral bands. The FTS has an approximately circular field of view with a diameter of 2.6 arcmin., and employs a dual-beam configuration with broad-band intensity beam dividers to provide high efficiency and separated output and input ports. The spectral resolution can be adjusted between 0.04 and 2 cm-1 (resolving power of 20-1000 at 250 μm). The flight instrument is currently undergoing integration and test. The design of SPIRE is described, and the expected scientific performance is summarised, based on modelling and flight instrument test results.

Paper Details

Date Published: 6 July 2006
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 6265, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation I: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter, 62650A (6 July 2006); doi: 10.1117/12.670783
Show Author Affiliations
Matthew Griffin, Cardiff Univ. (United Kingdom)
Alain Abergel, Institut d’Astrophysique Spatiale (France)
Peter Ade, Cardiff Univ. (United Kingdom)
Philippe André, Service d'Astrophysique, CEA (France)
Jean-Paul Baluteau, Observatoire de Marseille (France)
James Bock, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Alberto Franceschini, Univ. di Padova (Italy)
Walter Gear, Cardiff Univ. (United Kingdom)
Jason Glenn, Univ. of Colorado, Boulder (United States)
Douglas Griffin, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Ken King, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Emmanuel Lellouch, Observatoire de Paris (France)
David Naylor, Univ. of Lethbridge (Canada)
Göran Olofsson, Stockholm Observatory (Sweden)
Ismael Perez-Fournon, Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (Spain)
Michael Rowan-Robinson, Imperial College, Univ. of London (United Kingdom)
Paolo Saraceno, Istituto di Fisica dello Spazio Interplanetario (Italy)
Eric Sawyer, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Alan Smith, Mullard Space Science Lab. (United Kingdom)
Bruce Swinyard, Observatiore de Paris (France)
Laurent Vigroux, Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris (France)
Gillian Wright, UK Astronomy Technology Ctr. (United Kingdom)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6265:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation I: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter
John C. Mather; Howard A. MacEwen; Mattheus W. M. de Graauw, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top