Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Real-time demodulation scheme based on phase-shifting interferometry with error compensations for miniature Fabry-Perot acoustic sensors
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

In this article, recently developed high-speed, real-time fiber optic sensor demodulation techniques based on low coherence interferometry and phase-shifting interferometry are presented. The demodulation schemes are used in a pressure sensor system that consists of a Fabry-Perot sensing interferometer and an integrated optical circuit (IOC) phase modulator that is used as a reference interferometer. Various conventional phase-stepping algorithms and novel algorithms with error compensations are investigated in order to reduce the errors in the demodulated phase signals. The errors introduced in the phase demodulation arise from many sources, including random intensity measurement errors, phase-shifting errors, and signal-related errors associated with time delays. Numerical analyses are conducted to compare the performances of the demodulation schemes based on different phase-shifting algorithms. These analyses will provide guidelines for choosing appropriate algorithms in sensor demodulation schemes and improving the sensor accuracy and bandwidth.

Paper Details

Date Published: 30 March 2006
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 6167, Smart Structures and Materials 2006: Smart Sensor Monitoring Systems and Applications, 61670N (30 March 2006); doi: 10.1117/12.658017
Show Author Affiliations
Zhong Chen, Univ. of Maryland, College Park (United States)
Yuxiang Liu, Univ. of Maryland/College Park (United States)
He Li, Univ. of Maryland/College Park (United States)
Miao Yu, Univ. of Maryland/College Park (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6167:
Smart Structures and Materials 2006: Smart Sensor Monitoring Systems and Applications
Daniele Inaudi; Wolfgang Ecke; Brian Culshaw; Kara J. Peters; Eric Udd, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top