Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Subcutaneous transport of extravascular blood
Author(s): Andreas Meyer Winnem; Lise Lyngsnes Randeberg; Eivind L. P. Larsen; Magnus B. Lilledahl; Rune Haaverstad; Olav A. Haugen; Bjørn Skallerud; Lars O. Svaasand
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

An objective method for dating of soft tissue injuries is highly desired in forensic medicine. To achieve this, obtaining a fundamental understanding of extravascular blood behavior is necessary. Porcine blood mixed with fluorescein was inserted subcutaneously on an anaesthetized pig. The fluorescence build-up was measured as a function of time, using a fiber probe setup. Fluorescence measurements proved to be a suitable tool for monitoring the temporal distribution of fluid in a subcutaneous hemorrhage. Reasonable values for the fluid velocity was obtained by monitoring the fluorescein distribution around the infusion point. Further theoretical work and development of the experimental technique is necessary to obtain a good understanding of subcutaneous transport of blood.

Paper Details

Date Published: 22 February 2006
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 6078, Photonic Therapeutics and Diagnostics II, 607808 (22 February 2006); doi: 10.1117/12.645750
Show Author Affiliations
Andreas Meyer Winnem, Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology (Norway)
Lise Lyngsnes Randeberg, Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology (Norway)
Eivind L. P. Larsen, Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology (Norway)
Magnus B. Lilledahl, Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology (Norway)
Rune Haaverstad, Trondheim Univ. Hospital (Norway)
Olav A. Haugen, Norwegian Univ. of Science Technology, St. Olavs Hospital (Norway)
Trondheim Univ. Hospital (Norway)
Bjørn Skallerud, Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology (Norway)
Lars O. Svaasand, Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology (Norway)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6078:
Photonic Therapeutics and Diagnostics II
Kenton W. Gregory; Nikiforos Kollias; Reza S. Malek; Michael D. Lucroy; Henry Hirschberg; Brian Jet-Fei Wong; Eugene A. Trowers; Werner T.W. de Riese; Justus F. R. Ilgner; Steen J. Madsen; Lloyd P. Tate; Haishan Zeng; Guillermo J. Tearney; Bernard Choi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top