Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Photoluminescence study of (Er3+ + Yb3+) doped gallium nitride layers fabricated by magnetron sputtering
Author(s): Vaclav Prajzler; Ivan Hüttel; Jarmila Spirkova; Jiri Oswald; Vratislav Perina; Jiri Zavadil; Vladimír Machovic; Zdenek Burian
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Erbium (Er3+) and Ytterbium (Yb3+) ions doped Gallium Nitride (GaN) layers were deposited by RF magnetron sputtering. Deposition was carried out in Ar + N2 gas mixture using Ga and Ga2O3 target as the source of Gallium. For the erbium and ytterbium doping, the Er2O3, Yb2O3 pellets, or Er and Yb powder were laid on the top of the Ga2O3 target. The GaN layers were deposited on silicon and Corning glass substrates. The properties of the GaN layers were investigated by using X-ray diffraction, Raman spectroscopy, absorption spectra and photoluminescence spectra. Prism coupling mode spectroscopy was used to measure the waveguiding properties. The composition of the fabricated samples was determined by using nuclear chemical analysis as Rutherford Backscattering Spectroscopy (RBS) and Elastic Recoil Detection Analysis (ERDA). The results of the experiments were evaluated in terms of the relations between the technology approaches and the composition and luminescence properties of the fabricated thin films. Up to now the best results, which can be utilized for a structure operating at 1550 nm (when pumped at 980 nm), were obtained when using (erbium plus ytterbium) metallic powder and Corning glass as the substrate for the deposition.

Paper Details

Date Published: 29 September 2005
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 5957, Infrared Photoelectronics, 595714 (29 September 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.621366
Show Author Affiliations
Vaclav Prajzler, Czech Technical Univ. in Prague (Czech Republic)
Ivan Hüttel, Institute of Chemical Technology (Czech Republic)
Jarmila Spirkova, Institute of Chemical Technology (Czech Republic)
Jiri Oswald, Institute of Physics (Czech Republic)
Vratislav Perina, Nuclear Physics Institute (Czech Republic)
Jiri Zavadil, Institute of Radio Engineering and Electronics (Czech Republic)
Vladimír Machovic, Institute of Chemical Technology (Czech Republic)
Zdenek Burian, Czech Technical Univ. in Prague (Czech Republic)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5957:
Infrared Photoelectronics
Antoni Rogalski; Eustace L. Dereniak; Fiodor F. Sizov, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top