Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Pockels coefficients characterization of pure and iron doped lithium niobate using adaptive optics and the Czochralski crystal growth technique
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

We have measured the rc (effective electrooptical coefficient) of pure and doped Ferroelectric Lithium Niobate (LN) using a single beam, null detection polarimeter. The polarimeter is adjustable between two adaptive optics configurations--an iris hard stop beam pattern on the one hand and a diffractive optics generated top-hat beam on the other. We clearly show the need to control thermal heating of LN due to the transmitted laser beam. The required heating control has been implemented using a fabricated metallic heat sink called a "Cold Finger." In addition to its electrooptical properties, LN possesses a combination of unique piezoelectric, pyroelectric, and photorefractive properties. These properties make it suitable for applications in optical devices as frequency doublers, modulators, switches, and filters in communication systems and holographic recording medium. We present the classical microscopic anharmonic oscillator description for generating Pockels coefficients, and briefly describe the polarimetry measurement system. Here, the growth of pure and iron doped lithium Niobate is also described using an Automatic Diameter Control Czochralski Design growth technique. The results of growth, electrooptic measurements, adaptive optics implementation and some physical properties are compared and presented.

Paper Details

Date Published: 7 September 2005
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 5876, Laser Beam Shaping VI, 58760Y (7 September 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.618175
Show Author Affiliations
Denise Edwards, Alabama A&M Univ. (United States)
Darayas Patel, Oakwood College (United States)
Kurt Kanzler, Diffractive Laser Solutions (United States)
Michael Curley, Alabama A&M Univ. (United States)
Sundar Bairavarasu, Alabama A&M Univ. (United States)
Hossin Abdeldayem, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Curtis Banks, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Tesfaye Gebre, Alabama A&M Univ. (United States)
Manmohan D. Aggarwal, Alabama A&M Univ. (United States)
Jai Ching Wang, Alabama A&M Univ. (United States)
Matthew E. Edwards, Alabama A&M Univ. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5876:
Laser Beam Shaping VI
Fred M. Dickey; David L. Shealy, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top