Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Surface subwavelength structure and photonic device fabrication with temporally tailored multiple femtosecond laser pulses
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We have demonstrated the nanostructure fabrication on the Si surface by a 150 fs, 800 nm femtosecond laser pulse. The nanohole size of about 100 nm can be formed presumably by a near-field optical enhancement effect induced by the particle illumination. The nanohole size is nearly independent of the irradiated pulse number. It is found that the optical enhancement factor was about 7 in this experiment. The hexagonally arrayed nanoholes were fabricated. The diameter of the fabricated nanohole was about 90 nm and the depth was about 9 nm. In addition, using the double pulse fs laser, we demonstrated a low-loss waveguide fabrication in fused silica. A low-optical-loss waveguide is fabricated under the conditions that the first pulse energy and teh second pulse energy in the double pulse mode are 30 jJ and 160 jJ, respectively, nad the pulse time interval is 3 ps. The weak first pulse would act as a pre-conditioner of the fused silica and then the second subsequent pulse effectively induces the uniform refractive index change. This new femtosecond double pulse fabrication technique will be very promising for low-loss photonic device fabrication for photonic networks.

Paper Details

Date Published: 22 April 2005
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 5830, 13th International School on Quantum Electronics: Laser Physics and Applications, (22 April 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.617180
Show Author Affiliations
Minoru Obara, Keio Univ. (Japan)
Hiroto Takada, Keio Univ. (Japan)
Tetsuya Nagata, Keio Univ. (Japan)
Masanao Kamata, Keio Univ. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5830:
13th International School on Quantum Electronics: Laser Physics and Applications
Peter A. Atanasov; Sanka V. Gateva; Lachezar A. Avramov; Alexander A. Serafetinides, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top