Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

ZBLAN-based x-ray storage phosphors and scintillators for digital x-ray imaging
Author(s): Gang Chen; Jacqueline A. Johnson; Richard Weber; Stefan Schweizer; Douglas MacFarlane; John Woodford; Francesco De Carlo
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

X-ray storage phosphors have several advantages over traditional films as well as digital X-ray detectors based on thin-film transistors (TFT). Commercially used storage phosphors do not have high resolution due to light scattering from powder grains. To solve this problem, we have developed storage phosphor plates based on modified fluorozirconate (ZBLAN) glasses. The newly developed imaging plates are “grainless” and, therefore, can significantly reduce light scattering and improve image resolution. To study the structure and image performance of the novel storage phosphor plates, we conducted X-ray diffraction (XRD) and X-ray imaging analyses at the Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory. The XRD results show that BaCl2 crystallites are embedded in the glass matrix. These crystallites enlarge and are under residual stress after heat treatment. The X-ray imaging study shows that these storage phosphor plates have a much better resolution than a commercially used storage phosphor screen. The results also show that some of the glass ceramics are high-resolution scintillators. Our study demonstrates that these fluorozirconate-based glass ceramics are a promising candidate for high-resolution digital X-ray detectors for both medical and scientific research purposes.

Paper Details

Date Published: 20 April 2005
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 5745, Medical Imaging 2005: Physics of Medical Imaging, (20 April 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.617082
Show Author Affiliations
Gang Chen, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Jacqueline A. Johnson, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Richard Weber, Containerless Research Inc. (United States)
Stefan Schweizer, Univ. of Paderborn (Germany)
Douglas MacFarlane, Monash Univ. (Australia)
John Woodford, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Francesco De Carlo, Argonne National Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5745:
Medical Imaging 2005: Physics of Medical Imaging
Michael J. Flynn, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top