Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Gaia astrometric CCDs and focal plane
Author(s): Alexander Short; Gordon Hopkinson; Anouk Laborie; Pierre Pouny; Cyril Vetel; Tim Eaton; Roy Steward; Andrew Holland; Ian Hutchinson; David Smith; Jos de Bruijne; Philip Gare; Michael Perryman; Giuseppe Sarri; Igor Zayer
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

ESA's Gaia astrometry mission is due for launch in 2011. The astrometric instrument focal plane will have an area of up to 0.5m2 and will contain more than 100 CCDs. These will be operated in Time Delay and Integration mode in order to track and observe sources whilst the telescopes continuously scan the sky. Gaia's target for astrometric precision of a few millionths of an arc second, places extreme demands on focal plane thermo--mechanical stability and electronics performance. The CCDs themselves are large area, back illuminated, full--frame, four phase devices. They require maximum efficiency for observing the majority of (faint) objects, yet must simultaneously be able to handle very bright objects that will regularly cross the field of view. Achieving the final astrometric precision will also require excellent noise performance and MTF. In addition to demanding excellent performance from each CCD, they will need to be produced in large numbers which raises production and yield issues. When analyzing Gaia data it will be essential to understand and calibrate CCD behaviour correctly, including the expected performance degradation due to radiation damage. This is being addressed through comprehensive testing and the development of CCD models.

Paper Details

Date Published: 25 August 2005
PDF: 14 pages
Proc. SPIE 5902, Focal Plane Arrays for Space Telescopes II, 590205 (25 August 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.616999
Show Author Affiliations
Alexander Short, ESA ESTEC (Netherlands)
Gordon Hopkinson, Sira Technology Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Anouk Laborie, EADS Astrium (France)
Pierre Pouny, EADS Astrium (France)
Cyril Vetel, EADS Astrium (France)
Tim Eaton, e2v Technologies (United Kingdom)
Roy Steward, e2v Technologies (United Kingdom)
Andrew Holland, Brunel Univ. (United Kingdom)
Ian Hutchinson, Brunel Univ. (United Kingdom)
David Smith, Brunel Univ. (United Kingdom)
Jos de Bruijne, ESA ESTEC (Netherlands)
Philip Gare, ESA ESTEC (Netherlands)
Michael Perryman, ESA ESTEC (Netherlands)
Giuseppe Sarri, ESA ESTEC (Netherlands)
Igor Zayer, ESA ESTEC (Netherlands)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5902:
Focal Plane Arrays for Space Telescopes II
Thomas J. Grycewicz; Cheryl J. Marshall, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top