Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Finite difference time domain method (FDTD) to predict the efficiencies of the different orders inside a volume grating
Author(s): Cristian Neipp; John T. Sheridan; C. Pascual; A. Marquez; M. L. Alvarez; I. Pascual; A. Belendez
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Different electromagnetic theories have been applied in order to understand the interaction of the electromagnetic radiation with diffraction gratings. Kogelnik's Coupled Wave Theory, for instance, has been applied with success to describe the diffraction properties of sinusoidal volume gratings. Nonetheless the predictions of Kogelnik's theory deviate from the actual behaviour whenever the hologram is thin or the refractive index is high. In these cases, it is necessary to use a more general Coupled Wave Theory (CW) or the Rigorous Coupled Wave Theory (RCW). Both of these theories allow for more than two orders propagating inside the hologram. On the other hand, there are some methods that have been used long in different physical situations, but with relatively low application in the field of holography. This is the case of the finite difference in the temporal domain (FDTD) method to solve Maxwell equations. In this work we present an implementation of this method applied to volume holographic diffraction gratings.

Paper Details

Date Published: 8 June 2005
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 5827, Opto-Ireland 2005: Photonic Engineering, (8 June 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.605243
Show Author Affiliations
Cristian Neipp, Univ. de Alicante (Spain)
John T. Sheridan, Univ. College Dublin (Ireland)
C. Pascual, Univ. de Alicante (Spain)
A. Marquez, Univ. de Alicante (Spain)
M. L. Alvarez, Univ. de Alicante (Spain)
I. Pascual, Univ. de Alicante (Spain)
A. Belendez, Univ. de Alicante (Spain)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5827:
Opto-Ireland 2005: Photonic Engineering
Thomas J. Glynn; John T. Sheridan; Brian W. Bowe; Ronan F. O'Dowd; Gerard M. O'Connor; Aidan J.H. Flanagan; Gerard D. O'Sullivan; Gerald Byrne; Jonathan Magee, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top