Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

All-optical sampling based on two-photon absorption in a semiconductor microcavity for high-speed OTDM
Author(s): P. J. Maguire; L. P. Barry; T. Krug; M. Lynch; A. L. Bradley; J. F. Donegan; H. Folliot
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Future high-speed optical communications networks operating at data rates in excess of 100Gbit/s per channel will require a sensitive and ultrafast technique for precise optical signal monitoring. The standard way of characterising high-speed optical signals to use a fast photodetector in conjunction with a high-speed oscilloscope. However, this method is limited to a maximum data rate of approximately 40Gbit/s. An alternative is to employ all-optical sampling techniques based on ultrafast optical nonlinearities present in optical fibres, optical crystals and semiconductors. One such nonlinearity is the optical-to-electrical process of Two-Photon Absorption (TPA) in a semiconductor. This paper presents an optical sampling technique based on TPA in a specially designed semiconductor microcavity. By incorporating the microcavity design, we are able to enhance the TPA efficiency to a level that can be used for high-speed optical sampling.

Paper Details

Date Published: 3 June 2005
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 5825, Opto-Ireland 2005: Optoelectronics, Photonic Devices, and Optical Networks, (3 June 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.604835
Show Author Affiliations
P. J. Maguire, Dublin City Univ. (Ireland)
L. P. Barry, Dublin City Univ. (Ireland)
T. Krug, Trinity College Dublin (Ireland)
M. Lynch, Trinity College Dublin (Ireland)
A. L. Bradley, Trinity College Dublin (Ireland)
J. F. Donegan, Trinity College Dublin (Ireland)
H. Folliot, Institut National des Sciences Appliquees (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5825:
Opto-Ireland 2005: Optoelectronics, Photonic Devices, and Optical Networks
John Gerard McInerney; Harold S. Gamble; Gerald Farrell; David M. Denieffe; Padraig Hughes; R. Alan Moore; Liam Barry, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top