Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Nanoscale modification of DLC film surfaces with femtosecond laser pulses
Author(s): Naoki Yasumaru; Kenzo Miyazaki; Junsuke Kiuchi; Hiroyuki Magara
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Surface modification of thin diamond-like carbon (DLC) films deposited on stainless steel has been studied by irradiating linearly and circularly polarized femtosecond (fs), 800- and 267-nm Ti:sapphire laser pulses at laser fluence around the ablation threshold. The morphology of the DLC surfaces was observed and characterized with a field-emission scanning electron microscope and a scanning probe microscope. The linearly polarized light produced arrays of fine slender granular structure on the ablated surface, while the circularly polarized light formed a fine dot-like periodic structure. The mean spacing of these fine structures was 1/10 - 1/5 of the laser wavelength used. With an increase in the laser fluence, the size of structure was observed to increase, while the surface roughness decreased. We have analyzed the modified DLC surfaces by observing Raman spectra and found that the nanoscale modification of the DLC films is accompanied with a structural change into glassy carbon. This structural change depended on the fs laser fluence and little on the laser polarization and wavelength.

Paper Details

Date Published: 8 October 2004
PDF: 5 pages
Proc. SPIE 5662, Fifth International Symposium on Laser Precision Microfabrication, (8 October 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.596776
Show Author Affiliations
Naoki Yasumaru, Fukui National College of Technology (Japan)
Kenzo Miyazaki, Kyoto Univ. (Japan)
Junsuke Kiuchi, Eyetec Co., Ltd. (Japan)
Hiroyuki Magara, Industrial Technical Center of Fukui Prefecture (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5662:
Fifth International Symposium on Laser Precision Microfabrication
Isamu Miyamoto; Henry Helvajian; Kazuyoshi Itoh; Kojiro F. Kobayashi; Andreas Ostendorf; Koji Sugioka, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top