Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Measurement techniques for laser parameters relevant to materials processing
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Many micromachining operations, particularly in the electronics sector, utilize pulsed solid-state UV lasers. These processes demand high levels of stability, as the yield and quality relate directly to the repeatability of each laser pulse. Critical stability issues arise with single-pulse processes (e.g. repair), situations requiring bursts of pulses (e.g. drilling), and continuous pulsing applications (e.g. cutting). To realize optimal stability specific design choices must be made, certain transient problems must be solved, and pulse energy measurements must be standardized. Solid-state UV lasers originate as infrared lasers, and nonlinear optics converts the infrared to the UV. This conversion introduces instability. Performing the conversion within the infrared laser cavity suppresses the instability, relative to performing the conversion outside of the laser cavity. We explain this phenomenon. Ideally, a versatile and stable solid-state laser can generate pulses in many formats. Thermal effects tend to prevent this versatile ideal, resulting in transient problems (unstable pulse trains), or less than optimal performance when the laser is pulsing continuously. Many methods of measuring pulse energy exist. Each method can produce surprisingly different results. We compare various techniques, discuss their limitations, and suggest an easily implemented pulse energy stability measurement.

Paper Details

Date Published: 12 April 2005
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 5713, Photon Processing in Microelectronics and Photonics IV, (12 April 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.588710
Show Author Affiliations
Mark Alan Arbore, Lightwave Electronics Corp. (United States)
David Balsley, Lightwave Electronics Corp. (United States)
James Morehead, Lightwave Electronics Corp. (United States)
Frank Adams, Lightwave Electronics Corp. (United States)
Werner Wiechmann, Lightwave Electronics Corp. (United States)
Jeffrey Kmetec, Lightwave Electronics Corp. (United States)
Yidong Zhou, Lightwave Electronics Corp. (United States)
William M. Grossman, Lightwave Electronics Corp. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5713:
Photon Processing in Microelectronics and Photonics IV
Jim Fieret; David B. Geohegan; Friedrich G. Bachmann; Willem Hoving; Frank Träger; Peter R. Herman; Jan J. Dubowski; Tatsuo Okada; Kunihiko Washio; Yongfeng Lu; Craig B. Arnold, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top