Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Time-resolved photoluminescence measurements of InAs self-assembled quantum dots
Author(s): Sara Pellegrini; Gerald Stuart Buller; Leonid Ya. Karachinsky; A. S. Shkolnik; Nikita Yu. Gordeev; Georgy G. Zegrya; Vadim P. Evtikhiev; Ian R. Sellers; Maurice S. Skolnick; H. Y. Liu; Mark Hopkinson
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Time-resolved photoluminescence decay measurements have been performed on samples with varying sized self-assembled InAs/GaAs quantum dot ensembles, formed by substrate mis-orientation alone, but otherwise under identical growth conditions. Ground-state radiative recombination lifetimes from 0.8 to 5.3 ns in the incident energy density range of 0.79 pJcm-2 - 40 nJcm-2 at a temperature of 77 K were obtained. It was found that a reduction of the quantum dot size led to a corresponding reduction of the radiative lifetime. The evident bi-exponential decay was obtained for the ground state emission of the quantum dot array, with the slower second component attributed to a carrier re-capturing and indirect radiative recombination processes. Also experimental evidence of the effect of the AlGaAs barrier in InAs QDs emitting in the wavelength range 1200-1300nm is presented. Time-resolved photoluminescence measurements have been performed on samples with different compositions of Al in the barrier. A full discussion of the lifetimes of these near infra-red emitting dots will be presented.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 April 2005
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 5725, Ultrafast Phenomena in Semiconductors and Nanostructure Materials IX, (13 April 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.587846
Show Author Affiliations
Sara Pellegrini, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Gerald Stuart Buller, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Leonid Ya. Karachinsky, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
A.F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute (Russia)
A. S. Shkolnik, A.F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute (Russia)
Nikita Yu. Gordeev, A.F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute (Russia)
Georgy G. Zegrya, A.F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute (Russia)
Vadim P. Evtikhiev, A.F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute (Russia)
Ian R. Sellers, The Univ. of Sheffield (United Kingdom)
Maurice S. Skolnick, The Univ. of Sheffield (United Kingdom)
H. Y. Liu, The Univ. of Sheffield (United Kingdom)
Mark Hopkinson, The Univ. of Sheffield (United Kingdom)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5725:
Ultrafast Phenomena in Semiconductors and Nanostructure Materials IX
Kong-Thon Tsen; Jin-Joo Song; Hongxing Jiang, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top