Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Time-resolved dynamics in single InGaN quantum dots
Author(s): Robert A. Taylor; James W. Robinson; James H. Rice; Kwan H. Lee; Anas Jarjour; Jong H. Na; Shazia Yasin; Rachel A. Oliver; Menno J. Kappers; Colin J. Humphreys; G. Andrew D. Briggs; David P. Williams; Eoin P. O'Reilly; Aleksey D. Andreev; Yasuhiko Arakawa
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We present measurements of microphotoluminescence decay dynamics for single InGaN quantum dots. The recombination is shown to be characterized by a single exponential decay, in contrast to the non-exponential recombination dynamics seen in the two-dimensional wetting layer. The lifetimes of single dots in the temperature range 4 K to 60 K decrease with increasing temperature. Microphotoluminescence measurements of exciton complexes in single MOVPE-grown InGaN quantum dots are also reported. We find the exciton-biexciton and exciton-charged exciton splitting energies to be 25 meV and 10 meV to the higher-energy side of the exciton ground state, respectively. Assignments of the ground state exciton, biexciton and charged exciton are supported by theoretical calculations. These measurements have been extended to investigate the time-resolved dynamics of biexciton transitions in the quantum dots. The measurements yield a radiative recombination lifetime of 1.0 ns for the exciton and 1.4 ns for the biexciton. The data can be fitted to a coupled differential equation rate equation model, confirming that the exciton state is refilled as biexcitons undergo radiative decay.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 April 2005
PDF: 13 pages
Proc. SPIE 5725, Ultrafast Phenomena in Semiconductors and Nanostructure Materials IX, (13 April 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.583431
Show Author Affiliations
Robert A. Taylor, Univ. of Oxford (United Kingdom)
James W. Robinson, Univ. of Oxford (United Kingdom)
James H. Rice, Univ. of Oxford (United Kingdom)
Kwan H. Lee, Univ. of Oxford (United Kingdom)
Anas Jarjour, Univ. of Oxford (United Kingdom)
Jong H. Na, Univ. of Oxford (United Kingdom)
Shazia Yasin, Univ. of Cambridge (United Kingdom)
Rachel A. Oliver, Univ. of Cambridge (United Kingdom)
Menno J. Kappers, Univ. of Cambridge (United Kingdom)
Colin J. Humphreys, Univ. of Cambridge (United Kingdom)
G. Andrew D. Briggs, Univ. of Oxford (United Kingdom)
David P. Williams, NMRC, Univ. College Cork (Ireland)
Eoin P. O'Reilly, NMRC, Univ. College Cork (Ireland)
Aleksey D. Andreev, Univ. of Surrey (United Kingdom)
Yasuhiko Arakawa, Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5725:
Ultrafast Phenomena in Semiconductors and Nanostructure Materials IX
Kong-Thon Tsen; Jin-Joo Song; Hongxing Jiang, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top