Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

High-threshold highly reflective coatings at 1064 nm
Author(s): Frank Rainer; Frank P. De Marco; John T. Hunt; Amber J. Morgan; Leonard P. Mott; Frane Marcelja; Michael R. Greenberg
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We have conducted an extensive series of laser damage measurements on highly reflective (HR) dielectric coatings which have yielded 1064-nm thresholds as high as 40 J/cm for 8- to 10-ns pulses at pulse-repetition frequencies (PRF) of 10 Hz. Moreover by laser conditioning these coatings with subthreshold pulses the thresholds of some coatings were raised to levels exceeding 70 J/cm. These are the highest threshold dielectric HR coatings that we have tested in this regime. The coatings were originally developed to produce HR-overcoated metal mirrors for free-electronlaser (EEL) app1icationsat high PRF. Our tests included coatings deposited on both dielectric substrates and molybdenum (Mo) substrates. In each category we also examined coatings with a pre-coat of Mo between the substrate and the HR stack. The improved dielectric HR stacks effectively shielded the Mo from the laser irradiation so that the thresholds of virtually all Mo samples exceeded levels of the best dielectric-enhanced and dielectric-HR-coated metal mirrors we have tested to date. In addition to the low PRF measurements we also conducted 1064-nm damage tests at 6-kHz PRF using 65-ns pulses from the Kilroy damage test facility. The coatings survived thermal loading of fluences ranging from 2 to 10 J/cm2 with respective small spot sizes on the order of 1 . 2 to 0. 3 mm (1 /e? diameter). 1.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 June 1991
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 1441, Laser-Induced Damage in Optical Materials: 1990, (1 June 1991); doi: 10.1117/12.57235
Show Author Affiliations
Frank Rainer, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Frank P. De Marco, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
John T. Hunt, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Amber J. Morgan, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Leonard P. Mott, Spectra-Physics Optics Corp. (United States)
Frane Marcelja, Spectra-Physics Optics Corp. (United States)
Michael R. Greenberg, Spectra-Physics Optics Corp. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 1441:
Laser-Induced Damage in Optical Materials: 1990
Harold E. Bennett; Lloyd L. Chase; Arthur H. Guenther; Brian Emerson Newnam; M. J. Soileau, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top