Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Efficient method for optical constant determination by FTIR-ATR
Author(s): Koji Ohta; Hatsuo Ishida
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We propose a novel iterative method to obtain optical constant spectra in the infrared region from FT-IR/ATR spectra. The algorithm consists of three steps. The first step is to obtain a trial extinction coefficient spectrum k(v) from a measured ATR spectrum, using the assumption that the two spectra are proportional to each other. The second step is the Kramers-Kronig (KK) transformation for obtaining the refractive index spectrum n(v) from the k(v) spectrum. The last step is a refining process of the k(v) spectrum using the calculated n(v) spectrum and the measured ATR spectrum. The last two steps are repeated until n(v) and k(v) spectra are stable. The present method adopts the most efficient algorithm at each step of the iteration. The rate of convergence of the iteration depends on the measurement conditions for the ATR spectrum and the maximum k(v) value. The use of germanium as a material for the internal reflection element (IRE), and 45 degrees as the incident angle, is found to give good convergence for the range of the k(v) values of most organic materials. This method is applied to several polymer films directly cast on the IRE prism from solution. The results are in good agreement with those obtained with other methods using transmission spectra.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 March 1992
PDF: 2 pages
Proc. SPIE 1575, 8th Intl Conf on Fourier Transform Spectroscopy, (1 March 1992); doi: 10.1117/12.56372
Show Author Affiliations
Koji Ohta, Government Industrial Research Institute at Osaka (Japan)
Hatsuo Ishida, Case Western Reserve Univ. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 1575:
8th Intl Conf on Fourier Transform Spectroscopy
Herbert Michael Heise; Ernst Heiner Korte; Heinz W. Siesler, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top