Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

The GLAST burst monitor
Author(s): Andreas von Kienlin; Charles A. Meegan; Giselher G. Lichti; Narayana P. Bhat; Michael S. Briggs; Valerie Connaughton; Roland Diehl; Gerald J. Fishman; Jochen Greiner; Andrew S. Hoover; R. Marc Kippen; Chryssa Kouveliotou; William S. Paciesas; Robert D. Preece; Volker Schoenfelder; Helmut Steinle; Robert B. Wilson
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The next large NASA mission in the field of gamma-ray astronomy, GLAST, is scheduled for launch in 2007. Aside from the main instrument LAT (Large-Area Telescope), a gamma-ray telescope for the energy range between 20 MeV and > 100GeV, a secondary instrument, the GLAST burst monitor (GBM), is foreseen. With this monitor one of the key scientific objectives of the mission, the determination of the high-energy behaviour of gamma-ray bursts and transients can be ensured. Its task is to increase the detection rate of gamma-ray bursts for the LAT and to extend the energy range to lower energies (from ~10 keV to ~30 MeV). It will provide real-time burst locations over a wide FoV with sufficient accuracy to allow repointing the GLAST spacecraft. Time-resolved spectra of many bursts recorded with LAT and the burst monitor will allow the investigation of the relation between the keV and the MeV-GeV emission from GRBs over unprecedented seven decades of energy. This will help to advance our understanding of the mechanisms by which gamma-rays are generated in gamma-ray bursts

Paper Details

Date Published: 11 October 2004
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 5488, UV and Gamma-Ray Space Telescope Systems, (11 October 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.552913
Show Author Affiliations
Andreas von Kienlin, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Charles A. Meegan, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Giselher G. Lichti, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Narayana P. Bhat, Univ. of Alabama in Huntsville (United States)
Michael S. Briggs, Univ. of Alabama in Huntsville (United States)
Valerie Connaughton, Univ. of Alabama in Huntsville (United States)
Roland Diehl, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Gerald J. Fishman, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Jochen Greiner, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Andrew S. Hoover, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)
R. Marc Kippen, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)
Chryssa Kouveliotou, Universities Space Research Association (United States)
William S. Paciesas, Univ. of Alabama in Huntsville (United States)
Robert D. Preece, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Volker Schoenfelder, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Helmut Steinle, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Robert B. Wilson, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5488:
UV and Gamma-Ray Space Telescope Systems
Guenther Hasinger; Martin J. L. Turner, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top