Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

DUO: the Dark Universe Observatory
Author(s): Richard Griffiths; Robert Petre; Guenther Hasinger; Peter Predehl; Nicholas E. White; Bernd Aschenbach; Xavier Barcons; Hans Bohringer; Ulrich G. Briel; Lynn Cominsky; Michael F. Corcoran; Udo Dinger; Wilhelm J. Egle; Peter Friedrich; Zoltan Haiman; Robert Hartmann; J. Patrick Henry; Horst Hippmann; Jim Ingersoll; Keith Jahoda; Del T. Jenstrom; Steven Jordan; Eckhard Kendziorra; Günther Kettenring; Walter Kink; Norbert Meidinger; Takamitsu Miyaji; Joseph Mohr; Siegfried Mueller; Richard F. Mushotzky; Elmar Pfeffermann; Peter Schuecker; Axel Schwope; Mark Shannon; Lothar Strueder; Steven J. Varlese
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Dark Energy dominates the mass-energy content of the universe (about 73%) but we do not understand it. Most of the remainder of the Universe consists of Dark Matter (23%), made of an unknown particle. The problem of the origin of Dark Energy has become the biggest problem in astrophysics and one of the biggest problems in all of science. The major extant X-ray observatories, the Chandra X-ray Observatory and XMM-Newton, do not have the ability to perform large-area surveys of the sky. But Dark Energy is smoothly distributed throughout the universe and the whole universe is needed to study it. There are two basic methods to explore the properties of Dark Energy, viz. geometrical tests (supernovae) and studies of the way in which Dark Energy has influenced the large scale structure of the universe and its evolution. DUO will use the latter method, employing the copious X-ray emission from clusters of galaxies. Clusters of galaxies offer an ideal probe of cosmology because they are the best tracers of Dark Matter and their distribution on very large scales is dominated by the Dark Energy. In order to take the next step in understanding Dark Energy, viz. the measurement of the 'equation of state' parameter 'w', an X-ray telescope following the design of ABRIXAS will be accommodated into a Small Explorer mission in lowearth orbit. The telescope will perform a scan of 6,000 sq. degs. in the area of sky covered by the Sloan Digital Sky Survey (North), together with a deeper, smaller survey in the Southern hemisphere. DUO will detect 10.000 clusters of galaxies, measure the number density of clusters as a function of cosmic time, and the power spectrum of density fluctuations out to a redshift exceeding one. When combined with the spectrum of density fluctuations in the Cosmic Microwave Background from a redshift of 1100, this will provide a powerful lever arm for the crucial measurement of cosmological parameters.

Paper Details

Date Published: 11 October 2004
PDF: 13 pages
Proc. SPIE 5488, UV and Gamma-Ray Space Telescope Systems, (11 October 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.552171
Show Author Affiliations
Richard Griffiths, Carnegie Mellon Univ. (United States)
Robert Petre, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Guenther Hasinger, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Peter Predehl, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Nicholas E. White, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Bernd Aschenbach, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Xavier Barcons, Instituto de Fisica de Cantabria/Univ. of Cantabria (Spain)
Hans Bohringer, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Ulrich G. Briel, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Lynn Cominsky, Sonoma State Univ. (United States)
Michael F. Corcoran, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Udo Dinger, Carl Zeiss Laser Optics GmbH (Germany)
Wilhelm J. Egle, Carl Zeiss Laser Optics GmbH (Germany)
Peter Friedrich, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Zoltan Haiman, Columbia Univ. (United States)
Robert Hartmann, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
J. Patrick Henry, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Horst Hippmann, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Jim Ingersoll, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp. (United States)
Keith Jahoda, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Del T. Jenstrom, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Steven Jordan, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp. (United States)
Eckhard Kendziorra, Eberhard-Karls-Univ. Tubingen (Germany)
Günther Kettenring, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Walter Kink, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Norbert Meidinger, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Takamitsu Miyaji, Carnegie Mellon Univ. (United States)
Joseph Mohr, Univ. of Illinois/Urbana-Champaign (United States)
Siegfried Mueller, Max-Planck-Institut fur Extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Richard F. Mushotzky, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Elmar Pfeffermann, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Peter Schuecker, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Axel Schwope, Astrophysical Institut Potsdam (Germany)
Mark Shannon, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp. (United States)
Lothar Strueder, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Steven J. Varlese, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5488:
UV and Gamma-Ray Space Telescope Systems
Guenther Hasinger; Martin J. L. Turner, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top