Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

The photodetector array camera and spectrometer (PACS) for the Herschel Space Observatory
Author(s): Albrecht Poglitsch; Christoffel Waelkens; Otto H. Bauer; Jordi Cepa; Thomas F.E. Henning; Chris van Hoof; Reinhard Katterloher; Franz Kerschbaum; Dietrich Lemke; Etienne Renotte; Louis Rodriguez; Pierre Royer; Paolo Saraceno
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The Photodetector Array Camera and Spectrometer (PACS) is one of the three science instruments for ESA's far infrared and submillimetre observatory, Herschel. It employs two Ge:Ga photoconductor arrays (stressed and unstressed) with 16 x 25 pixels, each, and two filled Si bolometer arrays with 16 x 32 and 32 x 64 pixels, respectively, to perform imaging line spectroscopy and imaging photometry in the 57-210 micron wavelength band. In photometry mode, it will simultaneously image two bands, 60-85 micron or 85-130 micron and 130-210 micron, over a field of view of ~ 1.75'x3.5', with full beam sampling in each band. In spectroscopy mode, it will image a field of ~ 50"x50", resolved into 5 x 5 pixels, with an instantaneous spectral coverage of ~ 1500 km/s and a spectral resolution of ~ 75 - 300 km/s. In both modes background-noise limited peformance is expected, with sensitivities (5σ in 1h) of ~3 mJy or 3-10x10-18 W/m2, respectively.

Paper Details

Date Published: 12 October 2004
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 5487, Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Space Telescopes, (12 October 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.550045
Show Author Affiliations
Albrecht Poglitsch, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Christoffel Waelkens, Katholieke Univ. Leuven (Belgium)
Otto H. Bauer, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Jordi Cepa, Instituto de Astrofisica de Canarias (Spain)
Thomas F.E. Henning, Max-Planck-Institut fur Astronomie (Germany)
Chris van Hoof, IMEC (Belgium)
Reinhard Katterloher, Max-Planck-Institut fur extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Franz Kerschbaum, Univ. Wien (Austria)
Dietrich Lemke, Max-Planck-Institut fur Astronomie (Germany)
Etienne Renotte, Ctr. Spatial de Liege (Belgium)
Louis Rodriguez, CEA-Service D'Astrophysique (France)
Pierre Royer, Katholieke Univ. Leuven (Belgium)
Paolo Saraceno, Istituto di Fisica dello Spazio Interplanetario (Italy)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5487:
Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Space Telescopes
John C. Mather, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top