Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Development of a bionanobattery for distributed power storage systems
Author(s): Glen C. King; Sang H. Choi; Sang-Hyon Chu; Jae-Woo Kim; Yeonjoon Park; Peter T. Lillehei; Gerald D. Watt; Robert C. Davis; John N. Harb
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Currently available power storage systems, such as those used to supply power to microelectronic devices, typically consist of a single centralized canister and a series of wires to supply electrical power to where it is needed in a circuit. As the size of electrical circuits and components become smaller, there exists a need for a distributed power system to reduce Joule heating, wiring, and to allow autonomous operation of the various functions performed by the circuit. Our research is being conducted to develop a bio-nanobattery using ferritins reconstituted with both an iron core (Fe-ferritin) and a cobalt core (Co-ferritin). Both Co-ferritin and Fe-ferritin were synthesized and characterized as candidates for the bio-nanobattery. The reducing capability was determined as well as the half-cell electrical potentials, indicating an electrical output of nearly 0.5 V for the battery cell. Ferritins having other metallic cores are also being investigated, in order to increase the overall electrical output. Two dimensional ferritin arrays were also produced on various substrates, demonstrating the necessary building blocks for the bio-nanobattery. The bio-nanobattery will play a key role in moving to a distributed power storage system for electronic applications.

Paper Details

Date Published: 29 July 2004
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 5389, Smart Structures and Materials 2004: Smart Electronics, MEMS, BioMEMS, and Nanotechnology, (29 July 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.539778
Show Author Affiliations
Glen C. King, NASA Langley Research Ctr. (United States)
Sang H. Choi, NASA Langley Research Ctr. (United States)
Sang-Hyon Chu, National Institute of Aerospace (United States)
Jae-Woo Kim, Science and Technology Corp. (United States)
Yeonjoon Park, Science and Technology Corp. (United States)
Peter T. Lillehei, NASA Langley Research Ctr. (United States)
Gerald D. Watt, Brigham Young Univ. (United States)
Robert C. Davis, Brigham Young Univ. (United States)
John N. Harb, Brigham Young Univ. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5389:
Smart Structures and Materials 2004: Smart Electronics, MEMS, BioMEMS, and Nanotechnology
Vijay K. Varadan, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top