Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Fabrication of microreactors in photostructurable glass by 3D femtosecond laser direct write
Author(s): Koji Sugioka; Ya Cheng; Masashi Masuda; Katsumi Midorikawa; Kazuhiko Shihoyama
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Three-dimensional (3-D) microstructuring of photostructurable glass is demonstrated by using femtosecond (fs) laser for Lab.-on-chip, in other words, micro total analysis system (μ-TAS), application. The fs laser direct-write process followed by a thermal treatment and chemical etching in a HF aqueous solution produces true 3-D hollow microstructures embedded in the photostructurable glass. This technique is applied for manufacturing a microfluidic structure inside the glass. Mixing of two kinds of aqueous solutions is demonstrated in the fabricated structure. A freely movable microplate is also fabricated inside glass to control a stream of reagents in the microfluidics. To give additional functions to the fabricated microfluidics, selective metal plating of the glass i s performed by the fs laser irradiation in an electroless plating solution. This paper also discusses the mechanism of photostructurable glass modification by the fs laser.

Paper Details

Date Published: 15 July 2004
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 5339, Photon Processing in Microelectronics and Photonics III, (15 July 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.531630
Show Author Affiliations
Koji Sugioka, The Institute of Physical and Chemical Research (RIKEN) (Japan)
Ya Cheng, The Institute of Physical and Chemical Research (RIKEN) (Japan)
Masashi Masuda, The Institute of Physical and Chemical Research (RIKEN) (Japan)
Katsumi Midorikawa, The Institute of Physical and Chemical Research (RIKEN) (Japan)
Kazuhiko Shihoyama, HOYA Candeo Optronics Corp. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5339:
Photon Processing in Microelectronics and Photonics III
Jan J. Dubowski; Peter R. Herman; Friedrich G. Bachmann; Willem Hoving; Jim Fieret; David B. Geohegan; Frank Träger; Kunihiko Washio; Alberto Pique; Xianfan Xu; Tatsuo Okada, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top