Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Nanosilver from nano-AgBr: synthesis, surface chemistry, and nonlinear optical properties
Author(s): Erin Denise Moritz; Melville R. V. Sahyun; Scott N. Thorgaard
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

We report preparation of silver nanoparticles in the 10 nm size range by exhastive reduction of a well-known and well-characterized AgBr nanosol. These silver nanoparticles exhibit a second order hyperpolarizability tensor, β=(100±10) x 10-30 esu per atom. The nanoparticles chmisorb a monolayer of iodide ions with concomitant bleaching of the surface plasmon absorption but no attenuation of Hyper-Rayleigh (second harmonic light) Scattering (HRS). Further addition of iodide leads to significant enhancement of HRS, which we attribute so surface-enhanced second harmonic scattering (SESHS) from iodide ion physisorbed on the AgI adlayer. A merocyanine dye, which does not exhibit HRS in solution, chemisorbs as a monolayer to the nanosilver, with formation of J-aggregates. These aggregates, like the free dye, are not active in second harmonic scattering. Further addition of dye leads to HRS enhancement, which we interpret as physisorption of dye onto the J-aggregate monolayer; the non-centrosymmetric surface environment allows observation of SESHS. A lower-limit estimate of the second order hyperpolarizability of the adsorbed dye is 200 X 10-30 esu per molecule.

Paper Details

Date Published: 14 June 2004
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 5361, Quantum Dots, Nanoparticles, and Nanoclusters, (14 June 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.524177
Show Author Affiliations
Erin Denise Moritz, Univ. of Wisconsin/Eau Claire (United States)
Melville R. V. Sahyun, Univ. of Wisconsin/Eau Claire (United States)
Scott N. Thorgaard, Univ. of Wisconsin/Eau Claire (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5361:
Quantum Dots, Nanoparticles, and Nanoclusters
Diana L. Huffaker; Pallab Bhattacharya, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top