Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

DC characterization of an InP/InGaAs tunneling emitter bipolar transistor (TEBT)
Author(s): Chun-Yuan Chen; Shiou-Ying Cheng; Hung-Ming Chuang; Jing-Yuh Chen; Ssu-I Fu; Ching-Hsiu Tsai; Chi-Yuan Chang; Ching-Wen Hung; Chun-Wei Chen; Wen-Chau Liu
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The DC performances of a novel InP/InGaAs tunneling emitter bipolar transistor (TEBT) are studied and demonstrated. The studied device can be operated under an extremely wide collector current regime larger than 11 decades in magnitude (10-12 to 10-1A). A current gain of 3 is obtained even operated at an ultra-low collector current of 3.9x10-12A (1.56x10-7 A/cm2). The common-emitter and common-base breakdown voltages of the studied device are higher than 2 and 5V, respectively. Furthermore, a very low collector-emitter offset voltage of 40 mV is found. The temperature-dependent DC characteristics of the TEBT are measured and studied. Consequentially, based on experimental results, the studied device provides the promise for low-power electronics applications.

Paper Details

Date Published: 30 March 2004
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 5274, Microelectronics: Design, Technology, and Packaging, (30 March 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.522232
Show Author Affiliations
Chun-Yuan Chen, National Cheng-Kung Univ. (Taiwan)
Shiou-Ying Cheng, Oriental Institute of Technology (Taiwan)
Hung-Ming Chuang, National Cheng-Kung Univ. (Taiwan)
Jing-Yuh Chen, National Cheng-Kung Univ. (Taiwan)
Ssu-I Fu, National Cheng-Kung Univ. (Taiwan)
Ching-Hsiu Tsai, National Cheng-Kung Univ. (Taiwan)
Chi-Yuan Chang, National Cheng-Kung Univ. (Taiwan)
Ching-Wen Hung, National Cheng-Kung Univ. (Taiwan)
Chun-Wei Chen, National Cheng-Kung Univ. (Taiwan)
Wen-Chau Liu, National Cheng-Kung Univ. (Taiwan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5274:
Microelectronics: Design, Technology, and Packaging
Derek Abbott; Kamran Eshraghian; Charles A. Musca; Dimitris Pavlidis; Neil Weste, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top