Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Investigation of nonlinear dynamically induced instabilities in a Brillouin fiber ring and their stabilization schemes
Author(s): Justin Foreman; Chung Yu; Yong Kab Kim; Ridwana Khan; James C. Linford
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Stimulated Brillouin scattering(sBs) is the most dominant nonlinear process in optical fibers. It is a laser induced acousto-optic phenomenon with inherent optical feedback. As such, it is inherently quasi-periodic and chaotic in nature. The critical factors of fiber length, power, and feedback work together in producing this complex behavior. The Brillouin Fiber Ring greatly reduces the SBS linewidth as opposed to the open-ended scheme on the one hand, but enhances nonlinear dynamical instabilities such as quasi-periodicity and chaos. There is a rich variety of temporal behavior that flows through a seemingly automatic process of change above threshold. Increasing input power causes the dynamical behavior to further change while for some powers induces a change in line position or creates multiple lines in the frequency domain. The origin of these instabilities is being studied, while developing a means to suppress them.

Paper Details

Date Published: 8 March 2004
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 5272, Industrial and Highway Sensors Technology, (8 March 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.519177
Show Author Affiliations
Justin Foreman, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State Univ. (United States)
Chung Yu, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State Univ. (United States)
Yong Kab Kim, Wonkwang Univ. (South Korea)
Ridwana Khan, Univ. of North Carolina at Greensboro (United States)
James C. Linford, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State Univ. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5272:
Industrial and Highway Sensors Technology
Brian Culshaw; Samuel David Crossley; Helmut E. Knee; Michael A. Marcus; John P. Dakin, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top