Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Glass to ferroelectric phase transition induced by ac electric field in PbMg1/3Nb2/3O3 thin films
Author(s): M. Tyunina; K. Kundzins; Vismants Zauls; Juhani Levoska
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The nonlinear dielectric response of epitaxial heterostructures of relaxor ferroelectric PbMg1/3Nb2/3O3 thin films was experimentally studied using digital Fourier analysis. The amplitudes and the phase angles of the dielectric harmonics were determined as a function of temperature and the amplitude of the sinusoidal ac field. The response of the films was reconstructed assuming a linear contribution of the film-electrode interface capacitance. In the films at low amplitudes of ac field, a glass-like behavior was identified by a maximum in the third-order nonlinear dielectric permittivity around the freezing temperature, accompanied by a square field dependence of the amplitudes of the odd harmonics and the absence of the even-order harmonics. With increasing amplitude of ac field, a glass-to-ferroelectric transition was indicated by a deviation from the square field dependence of the amplitudes of the odd harmonics, the appearance of the even-order harmonics, and the switching of the phase angle of the third harmonic to 90°. Such an unstable glassy behavior was suggested to originate due to the presence of interfaces, crystallographic strain, and nanometer-scale structural features.

Paper Details

Date Published: 8 August 2003
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 5122, Advanced Organic and Inorganic Optical Materials, (8 August 2003); doi: 10.1117/12.515667
Show Author Affiliations
M. Tyunina, Univ. of Oulu (Finland)
K. Kundzins, Univ. of Latvia (Latvia)
Vismants Zauls, Univ. of Latvia (Latvia)
Juhani Levoska, Univ. of Oulu (Finland)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5122:
Advanced Organic and Inorganic Optical Materials
Andris Krumins; Donats Millers; Inta Muzikante; Andris Sternbergs; Vismants Zauls, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top