Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Two-color HgCdTe infrared staring focal plane arrays
Author(s): Edward P. Smith; Le T. Pham; Gregory M. Venzor; Elyse Norton; Michael Newton; Paul Goetz; Valerie Randall; Gregory Pierce; Elizabeth A. Patten; Raymond A. Coussa; Ken Kosai; William A. Radford; John Edwards; Scott M. Johnson; Stefan T. Baur; John A. Roth; Brett Nosho; John E. Jensen; Randolph E. Longshore
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Raytheon Vision Systems (RVS) in collaboration with HRL Laboratories is contributing to the maturation and manufacturing readiness of third-generation two-color HgCdTe infrared staring focal plane arrays (FPAs). This paper will highlight data from the routine growth and fabrication of 256x256 30μm unit-cell staring FPAs that provide dual-color detection in the mid-wavelength infrared (MWIR) and long-wavelength infrared (LWIR) spectral regions. FPAs configured for MWIR/MWIR, MWIR/LWIR and LWIR/LWIR detection are used for target identification, signature recognition and clutter rejection in a wide variety of space and ground-based applications. Optimized triple-layer-heterojunction (TLHJ) device designs and molecular beam epitaxy (MBE) growth using in-situ controls has contributed to individual bands in all two-color FPA configurations exhibiting high operability (>99%) and both performance and FPA functionality comparable to state-of-the-art single-color technology. The measured spectral cross talk from out-of-band radiation for either band is also typically less than 10%. An FPA architecture based on a single mesa, single indium bump, and sequential mode operation leverages current single-color processes in production while also providing compatibility with existing second-generation technologies.

Paper Details

Date Published: 8 December 2003
PDF: 13 pages
Proc. SPIE 5209, Materials for Infrared Detectors III, (8 December 2003); doi: 10.1117/12.507811
Show Author Affiliations
Edward P. Smith, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Le T. Pham, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Gregory M. Venzor, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Elyse Norton, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Michael Newton, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Paul Goetz, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Valerie Randall, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Gregory Pierce, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Elizabeth A. Patten, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Raymond A. Coussa, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Ken Kosai, Raytheon Co. (United States)
William A. Radford, Raytheon Co. (United States)
John Edwards, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Scott M. Johnson, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Stefan T. Baur, Raytheon Co. (United States)
John A. Roth, HRL Labs., LLC (United States)
Brett Nosho, HRL Labs., LLC (United States)
John E. Jensen, HRL Labs., LLC (United States)
Randolph E. Longshore, Raytheon Systems Co. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5209:
Materials for Infrared Detectors III
Randolph E. Longshore; Sivalingam Sivananthan, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top