Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Soft x-ray transmission of optical blocking filters for the x-ray CCD camera onboard Astro-E2
Author(s): Shunji Kitamoto; Takayoshi Kohmura; Norimasa Yamamoto; Haruko Takano; Harue Saito; Kazuharu Suga; Hiroyuki Sekiguchi; S. Chiba; I. Okamoto; Kiyoshi Hayashida; Haruyoshi Katayama; Toyonaka Enoguchi; Yuusuke Nakashima; T. Shiroshouji; Yuzuru Tawara; Akihiro Furuzawa; Takeshi Tanaka
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We measured optical and soft X-ray transmission of Optical Blocking Filters (OBFs) for Charge Coupled Device (CCD) cameras, which will be launched as focal plane detectors of X-ray telescopes onboard the Japanese 5th X-ray astronomical satellite, Astro-E 2. The filters were made from polyimide coated with Al. The X-ray absorption fine structures (XAFSs) at the K edges of C, N, O and K and L edges of Al were measured. The depth of the absorption edge of O was deep, compared to the other elements of polyimide. This is evidence of the oxidation of Al. The optical transmission is roughly less than 10-6 except for a peak around the wave length of 550 nm. Long term change of the soft X-ray transmission was measured. No significant change of the thickness of the oxidation layer was found during half year.

Paper Details

Date Published: 29 January 2004
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 5168, Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy, (29 January 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.505589
Show Author Affiliations
Shunji Kitamoto, Rikkyo Univ. (Japan)
Takayoshi Kohmura, Kogakuin Univ. (Japan)
Rikkyo Univ. (Japan)
Norimasa Yamamoto, Rikkyo Univ. (Japan)
Haruko Takano, Rikkyo Univ. (Japan)
Harue Saito, Rikkyo Univ. (Japan)
Kazuharu Suga, Rikkyo Univ. (Japan)
Hiroyuki Sekiguchi, Rikkyo Univ. (Japan)
S. Chiba, Rikkyo Univ. (Japan)
I. Okamoto, Rikkyo Univ. (Japan)
Kiyoshi Hayashida, Osaka Univ. (Japan)
Haruyoshi Katayama, Osaka Univ. (Japan)
Toyonaka Enoguchi, Osaka Univ. (Japan)
Yuusuke Nakashima, Osaka Univ. (Japan)
T. Shiroshouji, Osaka Univ. (Japan)
Yuzuru Tawara, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Akihiro Furuzawa, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Takeshi Tanaka, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5168:
Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy
Oberto Citterio; Stephen L. O'Dell, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top