Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Femtosecond laser ablation of metals: precise measurement and analytical model for crater profiles
Author(s): Masaki Hashida; Masayuki Fujita; Masahiro Tsukamoto; Alexandre F. Semerok; Olivier Gobert; Guillaume Petite; Yasukazu Izawa; J.-F. Wagner
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Laser ablation of Cu, Al, Fe, Zn, Ni, Pb, and Mo by short pulse laser (800nm wavelength, 70fs pulse duration, 0.01-28 J/cm2 fluence range) in air was studied. Three different ablation thresholds were distinguished in all metals. The lowest ablation threshold was of one order of magnitude lower than the one observed previously. In the fluence range of 0.018-0.18 J/cm2 the ablation rate was ≈0.01 nm/pulse. A dependence of the threshold on the pulse duration was demonstrated in the range of 70 fs- 5 ps for cupper. As the laser pulse duration increased, the ablation threshold had the tendency to be higher. A periodic structure was observed at the bottom of the crater in all metals. The spacing d of the patterned structure was determined to be d=300±40 nm for 0.07 J/cm2 and d=600±40 nm for 0.22 J/cm2. The spacing depended on the laser fluence rather than on laser wavelength.

Paper Details

Date Published: 19 February 2003
PDF: 6 pages
Proc. SPIE 4830, Third International Symposium on Laser Precision Microfabrication, (19 February 2003); doi: 10.1117/12.486538
Show Author Affiliations
Masaki Hashida, Institute for Laser Technology (Japan)
Masayuki Fujita, Institute for Laser Technology (Japan)
Masahiro Tsukamoto, Osaka Univ. (Japan)
Alexandre F. Semerok, CEA Saclay (France)
Olivier Gobert, CEA Saclay (France)
Guillaume Petite, Ecole Polytechnique (France)
Yasukazu Izawa, Institute of Laser Engineering (Japan)
J.-F. Wagner, CEA Saclay (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4830:
Third International Symposium on Laser Precision Microfabrication
Isamu Miyamoto; Kojiro F. Kobayashi; Koji Sugioka; Reinhart Poprawe; Henry Helvajian, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top