Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Heat-affected zone of metals ablated with femtosecond laser pulses
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The melted area is found on the surface ablated by nanosecond and picosecond laser pulses. However, the heat effect is little on the ablated surface in the case of femtosecond laser due to non-thermal ablation process. Heat-affected zone of metallic bulk crystal ablated with femtosecond Ti:sapphire laser pulses is experimentally studied. As a result of XRD (X-ray diffraction) measurements, the XRD peak signal of the area ablated with Ti:sapphire laser becomes smaller than that of the crystalline metal sample. While the crystallinity of the metal sample is crystalline before the laser ablation, the crystallinity in the ablated area is partially changed into the amorphous form. Because the residual pulse energy that is not used for the ablation process remains, leading to the formation of thin layer of melt phase. The melt layer is abruptly cooled down not to be re-crystallized, but to transform into the amorphous form. It is evident that the area ablated with femtosecond laser is changed into the amorphous metal. Additionally XRD measurements and AR+ etching are performed alternately to measure the thickness of the amorphous layer. In the case of iron, the thickness is measured to be 1 μm approximately, therefore heat-affected zone is quite small.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 October 2003
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 4977, Photon Processing in Microelectronics and Photonics II, (17 October 2003); doi: 10.1117/12.479242
Show Author Affiliations
Yoichi Hirayama, Keio Univ. (Japan)
Minoru Obara, Keio Univ. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4977:
Photon Processing in Microelectronics and Photonics II
Alberto Piqué; David B. Geohegan; Friedrich G. Bachmann; Koji Sugioka; Frank Träger; Jan J. Dubowski; Peter R. Herman; Willem Hoving; Kouichi Murakami; Kunihiko Washio; Jim Fieret, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top